We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Dover Marina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover Waterfront, Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Dover
Bradford, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Western Dover Marina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel last weekend. The room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the shopping centre. The room was small and too warm at night we had to have the cold fan on to cool it down when it was freezing outside. We could not open the window. The shower was not very effective. But for a couple of night it was reasonable for what we paid. They also had the Christmas tree up and this is only 3rd of November.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    177
    89
    42
    20
See reviews for
85
203
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. Its right on the front overlooking the ferry port so plenty of things to look at and do. The room was very nice just could have had a chest of drawers in. Shower could have been a bit better. The buffet breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices, Hot/Cold. We had a meal in the Restaurant which also was very good. We had a room overlooking the sea with a balcony which we used alot.
We would recommend this Hotel and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Was disappointed to find out upon arrival that the spa was not working. Got a terrible room and the shower did not work properly. The heating in the room was not effective and the bathroom was cold. Last but not least, most of the staff was not friendly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

On the plus side, this hotel offers some excellent sea views for reasonable rates, the service is good and the breakfast buffet is great value. The bedrooms are fitted out reasonably and the beds are fairly comfortable. However a major downside are the bathrooms which are shabby and which definitely do not belong in a 4 star hotel. Overall this hotel is OK but do not expect usual 4 star standards.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view as it is the best thing this hotel has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Dover, admittedly is not the prettiest town or village in Kent, but I enjoyed two nights using the Best Western as a base for visiting Canturbury, Dover Castle, and a few other minor sights in the area. The hotel was not too far from the Chunnel, and it was easy to find. The parking was across the alley, but not too far. The hotel staff were very curteous and promptly fixed a mistake in our booking. The internet was fast enough and dependable for what we needed. On the first night, I did hear the restaurant staff throwing a large number of glass bottles into the recycling bins behind the hotel. Try to book a room facing the channel to avoid that problem. Overall, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa is a nicely located hotel. and if you are staying for one night only parking space is widely available.The restaurant and bar are ok, as was the room , but it was nothing really special. The hall on the 4th floor where my room was situated was a bit scruffy and worn-down.

Breakfast which was not included in the price I found rather pricy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for the great sea views and as it turned out this was really the only reason we would stay again. You can really see how the rooms have been "thrown together" and although they are nicely decorated its easy to see where they have cut costs. Our room was slopping on a very obvious angle and some furniture looked as if it would topple over if you went near it. Our bathroom was cleanish but badly finished with a very bad paint and tile job not to mention a few cracked tiles here and there. We had a balcony which was nice and it did have a great view of the sea and Dover Castle. We didnt have breakfast included as this was a bit expensive, we ended up having breakfast in town as there was much more variety at really good prices. The town is a good 5-7 minute walk so just be prepared for that. Staff were ok but most didnt seem interested in being there. This is also a very noisy hotel with other guests coming and going at all hours of the morning and slamming doors along the way. All in all not bad but not great either, would probably look at a B & B next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Dover Waterfront, Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.