We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cod!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Inn

White Horse Inn
St. James Street | Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QD, England
01304 213066
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The oldest Pub in Dover, original building c 1365. Channel Swimmers' pub - if you are a successful English Channel Swimmer please sign our wall to record your achievement. Good pub food and real ales. Patio Garden.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cod!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Atmosphere second to none. My favourite pub so far. Great publican, great feel even a wood burning fire place. Meals are home cooked and only half a dozen on the menu but outstanding and worth a visit for a sticky beak at the blown up church next door and a read through all the signatures.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious English Roast Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have got a bit adicted to the roast dinners at the White Horse - gravy and roast potatoes just like mum makes!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The food was great - excellent fish and chips with tasty batter. I'm glad we stopped here for some drinks and a quick bite. Lucky enough to grab the table next to the fireplace.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant traditional English pub serving food & ale.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT FROM XMAS 2012. I had scampi & chips & Julie had fish & chips. We both thought the food was most enjoyable. They serve a good range of beers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were staying in a guesthouse around the corner from the White Horse Inn, so we naturally went there for dinner. The food was great, and the staff were very friendly and chatted to us when they weren't too busy. The walls are covered with the names of those who have swum the channel, so it's a very interesting place to be.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Inn also viewed

 

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.