We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good prices, local charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eight Bells

The Eight Bells
19 Cannon Street, Dover CT16 1BZ, England
01304 205030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 124 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Elkridge,MD
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices, local charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate there after Dover Castle tour. the Menu is diverse and caters to all tastes. The steak was good, the chef salad, and the rest was good. The prices were reasonable, and the decor is very English and pretty. It seemed like the locals ate, and drank, there and they added to the charm. My 16 yo daughter felt at home there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice lunches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We come here often on our lunch break and always find it very pleasant. The food is quick so if your looking for a quick lunch this is the place. Always nice aswell. Very good value too. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Pub in Dover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped here in June, 2013. We had appetizers and my favorite Guiness. The food was very good, the beer excellent and the staff very friendly. The rest of the menu must have been good. The place was full. We had a really nice afternoon there. I would go back again if I made it back to Dover.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry and Inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wife and I visited for lunch. Lucky enough to try Curry Club lunch. Wife had flaming dragon and I had curried lamb. Excellent meals, cold beers, very friendly service. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On entering we did not rate the dull and dark surroundings. As we turned to go out we saw the 5 star rating and decided to stay as there was very little on offer in Dover.
The food was excellent, the staff were friendly, the tables clean and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eight Bells also viewed

 

Been to The Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eight Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.