We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub in Dover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eight Bells

The Eight Bells
19 Cannon Street, Dover CT16 1BZ, England
01304 205030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 132 restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Pub in Dover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped here in June, 2013. We had appetizers and my favorite Guiness. The food was very good, the beer excellent and the staff very friendly. The rest of the menu must have been good. The place was full. We had a really nice afternoon there. I would go back again if I made it back to Dover.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    11
    23
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry and Inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wife and I visited for lunch. Lucky enough to try Curry Club lunch. Wife had flaming dragon and I had curried lamb. Excellent meals, cold beers, very friendly service. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On entering we did not rate the dull and dark surroundings. As we turned to go out we saw the 5 star rating and decided to stay as there was very little on offer in Dover.
The food was excellent, the staff were friendly, the tables clean and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ready for a refurb, sadly not up to Wethspoons standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ended up here as we wanted good pub grub and to be honest I was disappointed as I don't think it lived up to the standard I expect from Wetherspoons. The portion was on the small side the bacon topping was maily fat and the chips were not exactly hot. On the plus side the price was very reasonable.
The pub itself was quite dark and not particularly inviting. The staff were friendly enough and helpful with the menu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Half decent food but a lot like the Star Wars bar!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ate here March 2013. Literally all the people in here were drunk-at aound 17.30-so we were a bit uncomfortable with this. The food was okay. The Ladies toilet had sprung a leak which resulted in all the tables in this immediate area being evacuated. This left just the Mens toilet in order which in turn mean all the local, drunk women barging in whenever they wanted! Lots of underaged looking people swearing and shouting loudly at the person next to them. Never again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eight Bells also viewed

 

Been to The Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eight Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.