We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers day Special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor

Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor
Bridgewood Roundabout, Walderslade Woods | Walderslade, Chatham ME5 9AX, England
01634 201333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 81 restaurants in Chatham
Price range: $24 - $41
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, British, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Strood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mothers day Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

we went today for the Mothers Day special £25.00per head,we were put on a very small table that was for two even though there was four of us then to be told that the whole meal was self serve might I add that this was not told to us prior to booking. My husband had also asked if there was to be live entertainment "oh yes there will be some entertainment" .......a magician who did the same two tricks and jokes fro every table. Need less to say we will not be returning to this hotel in the near future!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine E, Manager at Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear emily c,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review I am disappointed to hear that your experience of Squires restaurant was not to the standard that you expected. Our Mothers Day carvery was extremely popular as we offered a 4 course carvery meal for only £19.95 which included a magician and we also gave a complimentary spa treatment voucher to all of the mums on the day. The event was marketed as a carvery rather than a plated, served meal but I am sorry that you were not aware of this in advance . I appreciate your comments and will work with the team to ensure that you will be delighted with your experience at any future visit, please contact me directly so that I can personally over see any future booking
kind regards Claire Johnson- Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    25
    7
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All style and no substance in the evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Presentation isn't everything, looked great but even though it was expensive, food tasted a bit cheap and thrown together. Service was slow, it wasn't busy. Room service was quicker though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine E, Manager at Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear LHallam, Thank you for taking the time to review Squires Restaurant. I am disappointed to hear that you experience with us not to the high standards that our guests have come to expect from the food and service we pride ourselves upon here. I can assure you that I have taken on board your comments and will discuss the issues that you have raised with our team. I hope that I can welcome you back to Squires Restaurant in the future to restore your faith in us. If you would like to discuss this further with me please feel free to contact me cjohnson@qhotels.co.uk
Kind Regards Claire Johnson Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Fair selection of pub type food and snacks reasonably priced. The Fries are to due for 11/10, very good wines though wasn`t familiar with the brands

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine E, Manager at Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Jaycee070, Thank you for your recent post with regards to your meal with us recently in Squires bar. I will pass your comments on the the team who will be pleased that you rate our gourmet fries so highly. I look forward to welcoming you back to Squires for a nice glass of wine and meal in the near future. Kind Regards Claire Johnson- Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value and good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Squires is a nice local Gastro kind of bar.
The food is good old British fare and always fresh & tasty.
I love their pies usually Chicken & leek or Steak & ale fantastic.
A great place to unwind, when large party's of friends are here for special occasions they always stay at Bridgewood Manor as it is great value for money

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine E, Manager at Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear GChatham, Thank you for your response with regards to your resent meal in Squires Bar. You will be please to hear Glen our Head Chef is currently working on our new spring menu which will have a new selection of freshly cooked home made pies for you to try along with many other new tasty dishes, along with the popular classics. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Many Thanks again, Claire Johnson- Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Buffet Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast at the Bridgewood Manor. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We couldnt fault the service or the food which was piping hot and fresh. So much choice. Everything was run very well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine E, Manager at Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Tracy B, Many thanks for taking the time to post your response with regards to your recent for breakfast with us. I have passed your praise to Kristina our breakfast supervisor and the kitchen team who will appreciate your comments. I hope that we will can welcome you again in the future maybe for a Sunday Lunch or evening A La Carte meal. With Regards Claire Johnson- Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor also viewed

 

Been to Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squires Restaurant at Bridgewood Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.