We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St George Hotel, Chatham, Kent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St. George Hotel to your Saves list
St. George Hotel
7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St George Hotel, Chatham, Kent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the St George for an overnight stay on a Saturday night. I arrived by train and it is conveniently located about halfway between Rochester and Chatham railway stations, about 10-15mins walk from either.
I was travelling solo and allocated a single room which was small and compact (single bed, bedside locker, table and chair, wardrobe) but completely adequate for my purpose. There was a kettle with tea and coffee facilities, a TV and lovely views over the Medway river. There was an adjoining wet room. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable with free Wifi.
This hotel seems to be a favourite for those having functions (it has expanded over the years and has a number of function rooms) and I thought I had made a bad mistake when the beat of pop music could be heard from possibly the floor below. However this stopped at 10.30pm on the dot and thereafter the night was quiet.
There's a bar which also serves snacks and a restraunt on the lower ground floor. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, tea/coffee, choice of 2 juices and a choice of about 5 cooked breakfasts (full English, vegetarian, boiled eggs, bacon and eggs and another I can't remember, plus toast). Again nothing fancy but good..
The place appears to be family run, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
30
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed two nights here with eight other family members. Very good value for money. Family run and most staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and had everything I needed. I had a riverside view which was lovely.

Parking was a bit of a problem as they had two functions on Friday evening and one on Saturday. I think priority should be given to those staying at the hotel and not just visiting guests. Also need to mention that the restaurant is closed when functions are on.

Good full English breakfast and choice of menu. Excellent coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Bearable for a one-night business stay, but overall premises very shabby and not too clean. Below average breakfast. No hair dryer which is very unusual these days, nor toiletries. Didn't risk either bar or restaurant but went out in the evening instead. Cheap, but not cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

stayed here for one night room was small but comfortable it had a view of the medway which was lovely.as it was a single occupancy room it was fine. i was there for business stay in Chatham for one night i dont think i would of stayed in that room for more than that but overall the hotel was clean and well presented

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Having planned to pop to chatham for the weekend to visit some friends I needed a place to stay so i started looking around for the best price and found this was the cheapest, to my surprise it wasn't all grim and disguising. The room was clean and well presented views were not good unless you climbed out of the window and tilted your head a little lol but that depends what room you get I suppose the breakfasts were delicious with a lovely choice of items the service was great on all sections of the hotel, even returning at 4am in the morning they are still happy I help I had a pleasant stay and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were incredibly helpful and the room I was given was clean and had everything I needed although was on the small side.

The breakfast was good with a selection of fruit, cereals and hot food cooked to order which is unusual nowadays and a nice touch. The bar and restaurant facilities were of a good standard.

I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAris, Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Friendly welcome, free parking lot, decent wifi and breakfast, clean and quiet. This hotel does not offer anything luxurious but it is very good if you are on a budget. I would surely return when I will be back in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Address: 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.