We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few irritating things...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A few irritating things...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For what it is, this is a pretty average place to stay.

Rooms had no proper temperature control and even in winter time it was so hot in the rooms I felt like I was going to pass out as the radiators are jammed on and you can't open the windows.

Me and my partner had a broken boiler at the time so we were really looking forward to a nice bath or shower with hot water. We had to laugh otherwise we would have cried - their boiler went down!

Breakfast was nice and fresh, location a bit far away from main area of Rochester but as I said before this place served a purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel, I am glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. Sincere apologies that the heating in the bedroom was not working at the time of your stay last year. Since then all the heating has been fixed. I do hope your boiler at home is also fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    143
    128
    45
    22
See reviews for
99
107
22
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The welcome was fantastic "Sam" on reception is helpful, informative and very polite.
Rooms were very clean and cleaned daily with fresh towels. Nothing was too much trouble, even down to getting a nail file! :)
The pool and jacuzzi are a must!
We only had bar food while we stayed but the meals we had were nice and bigger than expected.
Breakfast is help yourself, where a wide arrange is avaliable.
Only downfall in the whole of our stay was the rude barmaid.... I asked for a table to be cleaned so we could sit down and she said "yeah, in a minute" and then in earshot of my husband she said to her colleague "can you wipe that table before "she" kicks off!!!! Personally, I think a clean table is something expected!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It was great to hear how helpful the receptionist was and how clean the rooms were and I'm glad you enjoyed the use of our leisure club. My sincere apologies for the poor service you received in the bar. if you would like to call the hotel directly I will be happy to talk to you further about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

26 family members stayed in this hotel over the weekend 19 - 22 April. Without exception everyone said how helpful the staff were, how clean the rooms were and that all meals taken were good. We all enjoyed our stay. Particular thanks to Vicky Trowbridge, Elisha and Laura. Laura good luck with your baby and your wedding.

Richard and Sue Bowman

Room Tip: Top floor and not by the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am so glad you all had such a great stay. I hope you enjoyed the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Oh dear!
The hotel and location are nice BUT I was made to feel small and embarrassed by the total lack of customer service. It specifically stated that a large print menu was available. After an intolerable wait in the restaurant whilst the staff looked for one they eventually said they did not have one. How difficult is it to reproduce one using a photocopier enlarger? My husband had to read the menu to me which was extremely embarrassing especially as there were a number of other people in the restaurant who were witnesses to it.
After complainig when we got home we were offered some loyalty points. A refund would have been much more acceptable as well as a huge apology.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I am so sorry for the poor experience you received in the restaurant when asking for a large print menu. This is not usual practice and I am extremely sorry you felt the way you did. We have reviewed this and we do now have large print menu's available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bn13 1dg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly.I would have given it five stars but it fell down on the following.When all the guest had arrived in fair numbers and assembled at the bar there was only one person serving for a while and the wait for a drink was so long some had to go without, as the ceromoney was to begin.The rooms were so hot i had trouble sleeping.The breakfast, whilst very good ,was a shambles.The chef put out six fried eggs for 40 people, As i was at the back of the queue, waiting for him to cook and bring them to the table , was so long i lost the will to live. Wine is very expensive grossly over the top

Room Tip: odd numbers on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you found all the staff so friendly and helpful. My sincere apologies for the slow service issues that you experienced, we will be looking into these further. I do hope that you enjoyed your brother in laws wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A Weekend Break organised by my Pensioners Club, we have a couple a year. Holiday Inn Standards are generally very high, and this was no exception. Usual very nice (Standard Double), although getting one of the rooms fronting the adjacent main road meant traffic noise early in morning spoilt a lay-in. Radiator in room did not work, so suffered the cold, although admittedly suffering coldest winter on record with some snow outside. Staff throughout the hotel were welcoming and helpful. Enjoyed the Pool facilities which were very clean. Although as a group we had a buffet arrangement for dinner, the food was good. Our only complaint was the so called corkage (mark up) on the wine. By far the most expensive wine menu we have experienced in a long time, and discouraged many of our party from ordering a bottle to have with dinner.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms fronting the main road. Can't recall all the numbers, but ask at Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was great to hear you had a lovely weekend away at the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it and we lived up to your expectations. I am so sorry that the radiator in your room did not work, i only wish we could have rectified this for you at the time. I hope that we can welcome you all back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked through the website and telephoned asking for early check in - excellent customer service on the phone. Upgraded to a larger room. Considering the location next to a busy road and airport, the room was quiet and comfortable. Pool and steam room was a nice surprise. We did not eat on site so cannot comment on restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm glad you found your stay so quiet and comfortable, with excellent staff service. I do hope you will return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.