We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arrived mid afternoon, friendly staff at reception, Bar staff friendly. Surely something must go wrong! No the room was excellent, large and airy, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had little soaps and shampoo for that nice touch, better than those big dispensers we see these days.There is a pool and steam you can use and if you like that sort of thing a small airport where you can watch light aircraft and helicopters landing and taking off. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. I am glad that you had such a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    137
    115
    41
    21
See reviews for
91
99
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Now I have your attention..... Stayed at Holiday Inn and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was huge. Paid only £43.00 per night. Everything worked. Bed was a dream ... Staff all courteous and friendly and was asked often if everything was ok . The hotel itself is located near the airport . No aircraft noise and near to the major attractions. Our room was situated at the end of a veeeery long corridor so be prepared for a walk Lol... Breakfast I thought was expensive and not the best quality. £12.00 for full English with the trimmings . Would stay again. Internet is chargable so dont make the mistake that I did and think it is free as advert tells you it is free ( In America ) ... Altogether a brilliant place Oh and the free use of swimming pool.. Great for keeping little ones entertained in those quiet moments .. :-)

Room Tip: Can only quote on my room. It was a long walk and a flight of stairs with the option of using a stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was good to read your great comments especially about the staff, bedroom and pool. The price of the internet is due to its speed and security. I am glad that you would stay again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times over the past three months. The rooms vary from very comfortable to a sauna. The rooms along the corridor from the lifts are uncomfortably hot, to the extent that I need to leave the window open all night, ( not great in Feb or March). The reception and Gym staff are very friendly. The restaurant service can be slow to order your food. I've waited over ten minutes, just to order a drink. the food is very good and average priced 'for a hotel'. the lager at the bar is terrible, flat and not much taste. I'll continue to use this hotel, just need to stay away from the hot rooms and stop the restaurant staff from disappearing, before I can order my drink (not lager).

Room Tip: stay away from the hot rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am so sorry that you found the rooms hot, and service in the restaurant slow. The food prices are comparable with other restaurants in the area. It was good to hear that you found the gym and reception staff so friendly and you will continue to use us, as it is only with positive and negative comments that we can strive to improve our service for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Normally the is food is inedible, full of grease and generally uninspiring.

Staff helpful friendly , breakfast and dinner was enjoyable . Good wines on menu .

I have stayed in a other "inn's "and this is far superior!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you found the staff so friendly and helpful and we exceeded your expectations. I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed x2 nights, great food, bar and facilities. Staff very helpful & friendly. Had a view of Rochester Airport from the room so watching the small planes take-off and land was interesting and a little different, not at all noisy though.

The corridors and restaurant were very cold though on Saturday evening, hence ate and back to the warmth of our room. Staff advised that the heating had frozen - it was cold outside during our stay... portable heaters were on around the restaurant but still very cold.

Room Tip: First stay at this hotel, our room was warm, clean & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am glad you found it warm, clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Everything was lovely including the breakfast. Staff were all very friendly and hotel clean and comfortable. Easy to find so in great location. will definately stay again when in the area and will try other holiday inns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to hear how friendly you found the staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for one night as we were visiting a friend for their large birthday party.
The check in was very efficient & the room was very clean with all the facilities that we wanted.
Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice ,well cooked & served by very helpful staff.
The only downside was the amount of noise from nearby rooms which interrupted our sleep several times..Have arrived home & had an hours sleep & now feel refreshed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank your for reviewing the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the birthday party. I am sorry you were interrupted during the night by noisy neighbours, I only wish we had known at the time so we could have done something about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Address: Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre. Click here for more info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Hotel Chatham
Holiday Inn Chatham
Chatham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham Kent, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.