We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasent evening.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coach & Horses

The Old Coach & Horses
Church Hill | Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9AB, England
+44 1227 766609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: British, English, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A lovely old English Coach House in the picturesque village of Harbledown. Just 5 minutes drive from Canterbury City Centre, or a leisurely 15 minute walk. A village pub with a friendly, informal atmosphere serving top qualtiy food from local suppliers and seasonal ingredients. Open for Lunch and Dinner every day, serving a wide range of local beers, cask ales and the finest wines. There is also a lighter bites Lunch/Garden every lunchtime excluding Sundays. Our garden is simply breathtaking with stunning views of the surrounding woods. Open for drinks all day.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very pleasent evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We looked up a few gastro pubs in the area to try, and decided to sample their menu this valentines weekend. The food was remarkable. Everything was cooked beautifully, the portion sizes were generous, and the dessert a real treat. The staff were very friendly, and efficient, We enjoyed our evening, and will definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    43
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A perfect Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've visited The Old Coach and Horses on two-occasions, both for Sunday lunch with family and having tried both the pork and beef options, can highly recommend both. Portions are ample, with a good chunk of slow cooked pork and thick slices of very tender beef, a nice selection of fresh peas and carrots and large Yorkshire pudding. Perfect! The building is characterful, well maintained and with the restaurant over two to three compact floors the atmosphere is cosy and welcoming. The service was excellent on both occasions and we will no doubt be going back again in the not-too-distant-future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Recommended to us by our B&B owner, booking is advisable as the restaurant is only small. Nice selection of local brews, food was excellent, nice little touches like gin and tonic sorbet in-between the starter and main course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
“Fabulous food, fab owners and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The food is outstanding s
The service good and the atmosphere welcoming
If you haven't tried it you are missing out

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family gathering ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I book a family gathering for 30 odd adults and kids for last nite
To have a Xmas meal turkey
Xmas pub and mince pie and coffee £18 each
It was lovey .....plenty of good food, lovely and hot and very tasty
I would defo return
Gold star from us :)
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coach & Horses also viewed

 
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Old Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach & Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.