We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-week meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coach & Horses

The Old Coach & Horses
Church Hill | Harbledown, Canterbury CT2 9AB, England
+44 1227 766609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 282 restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A village pub in the heart of the lovely village of Harbledown, serving the community and visitors alike with fresh, homemade food using local and top quality ingredients. Local well-kept Ales and beers. English wines along with a good selection of wines by the glass and bottle.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great mid-week meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a Wednesday evening and was pleasantly surprised that the restaurant was full. Food was amazing, goats cheese starter was wonderful and chicken pie was succulent. Service was excellant, one waiter running the restaurant and he was brilliant. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    67
    29
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, Kent
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming pub with good wine and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I regularly meet my friends here for lunch and am rarely disappointed. The service is excellent, the wine and food very good ( try the bread which is delicious). There's a lovely outside space upstairs which I'm reluctant to tell you about ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quaint and quirky- loved the place, The food and the staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great food ,a real treat . Charming
Waitress who was most attentive and happy to help us.
Will certainly be going back for another great evening or maybe
Sunday lunch.
A really good find tucked away in a hamlet only just outside the city with great parking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal - staff could have been a little more upbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having seen the restaurant on Trip Advisor, we had some friends coming up to stay in Kent for their anniversary and thought it would be nice to try somewhere different. The meal itself was fabulous and both vegetarians and meat eaters enjoyed their meals. One of the waitresses, however, could have been a little more welcoming and accommodating as her approach was quite surly when taking our order. We will certainly be back though as the food was well worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Canterbury on its own!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although not in the heart of Canterbury this pub was recommended to us when we stayed at Oakside Lodge a couple of miles away as a Gastro Pub,
Rather than drive into the actual town we followed the directions to find the most amazing place. The weather was great so we started with gin and tonic in the terraced gardens behind and were entertained by the very large resident pig (enclosed!!!)
The menu was extensive and we started with the sea food anti pasta for two. I know another reviewer was disappointed with it - we certainly were not! It was fresh and plentiful and came with a mix of lovely warm breads! Perhaps I should have had it as a main as following such a brilliant copious starter with a prawn, avocado and pesto salad did make me feel a bit of a pig - but it was delicious. My husband had the steak and asked for medium rare - which is what he got.
We were too full for desserts but had a thoroughly great evening and are just working out how we can find ourselves back that way again to do it all over again!
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coach & Horses also viewed

 
Chartham, Canterbury
 

Been to The Old Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach & Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.