We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mauresque

Cafe Mauresque
8 Butchery Lane, Canterbury CT1 2JR, England
+44 (0)1227 464300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 282 restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had a meal at Cafe Mauresque last night and is was fantastic,with execlent service with very helpul and knowledagable waiters and waitresses, the food was wonderfull full of texture and different tastes.The atmosphere was happy and vibrant, I would recomend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    354
    134
    22
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best steak in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been here on a number of occasions in the past. My friends and I liked the steak that have the best sauce with delicious potatoes. The quality of steak and seafood paella are as good as we expected - steak tasted so tender and juicy. Also it is a good place to have a dinner or lunch with friends - cozy, quiet, friendly and warm. I would recommend mint tea because they put some herbs in pot that smell and taste so fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lovely food, I had the pork belly for my main and it was delicious. The sauce it was cooked in made it tender and suclent. The only critism is that the fat could have done with a bit more heat to get the crackling going. The side dishes and starters were very nice and this returant has a wide selection of food and in my opinion it was all done well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“morrocan decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Liked the decor and the friendly staff.
Good choice of morrocan and spanish dishes at reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hope the quality isn't on the slide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been to cafe Mauresque on a number of occasions in the past and had some great meals - the Pork Belly is to die for.

We went there this weekend (Sat 6th April) - The quality of the meal I had was nowhere near as good as expected - very fatty lamb, bland chicken and cold, watery veg! I did tell the waitress that the veg wern't up to standard and to be fair, she did go off and get some more - they were hot - and still very watery - couldn't eat them - shame.

Really hope that this was a one off and not a sign of things to come!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mauresque also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Cafe Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mauresque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.