We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rafael's

Rafael's
The Goods Shed, Station Road West, Canterbury CT2 8AN, England
(0)1227 459153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 243 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
folkestone
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a terrific lunch here recently and decided to suggest it to visiting family for dinner.
The shed comes into its own at dusk with candles - and you get a linen napkin (good).

The GS offer is sophisticated and informal - that's always a difficult trick to pull off. Typically, the food offer and the relaxed service don't match.

I don't think our experience at dinner was quite as good as lunch - maybe we were expecting too much. The background setting was less busy (the market was mostly closed) - which undermines the whole setting a bit.
I always love a busy restaurant and the animation and excitement of people working and eating.

I am prepared to forgive food that doesn't quite work - as long as the effort, ambition and spirit are there. The GS needs to be encouraged; not just for Canterbury, but for the emerging East Kent lifestyle thing.

We'll visit again

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    109
    32
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
474 reviews 474 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Such a nice setting and ethos - perhaps a bit pricey for lunch, though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This restaurant is part of a building called The Goods Shed, most of which is given over to being a food hall, selling mostly local produce. In keeping with this ethos and setting, the restaurant offers a seasonal, local menu which changes not only every day, but between afternoon and evening sittings. I was meeting someone there, and I think for both of us the prices were a bit mroe than we expected - at least, there was nothing on the menu which seemed to cater for the quick lunchtime snack in the middle of a working day. So she had a starter and I had the cheeseboard, which we were both pleased with - it was just the choice was limited if you did not want a substantial main course.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Gastronomic Tour of Kent – The Goods Shed, Canterbury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of a series of reviews of meals taken on a gastronomic tour of Kent in Summer 2013.
Perhaps the best way of characterising the meal taken here is “good honest cooking”. A smoked eel, duck's egg & salad was very good. There was a nice balance between the smoked flavour of the eel and the yolk of the egg. I enjoyed it.
My main of braised shoulder of lamb was a typical "slow food" course. Lots of flavour from a good product.
The strawberry pavlova dessert was similarly full of flavour. Nothing innovative, just good food, cooked well.
Overall, no fireworks, but an enjoyable meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Have visited here to shop and have had breakfast on numerous occasions which has been wonderful!! I was therefore really looking forward to our evening last week which I'd booked for hubby's birthday. How disappointed we were. Now having been vegetarian for many years, I have come to expect the very limited choice there is available on many menus, but I have never been anywhere where there has been only one vegetarian option on the menu - summer vegetable rice, which sounded quite nice, but I soon realised when it arrived that it was risotto by another name, which I always think is a cop out for veggies!! However, ever adventurous I tucked in and to be honest it was ok. BUT... the accompanying salad was inedible. Whilst I applaud the attempt to use a variety of leaves (I grow many in my own garden), these were hard, and some impossible to chew, let alone swallow. Now for those of you that think I'm just another fussy veggie (I'm not fussy at all, don't mind what I eat as long as it never had a face!), my husband was also disappointed with his meal. He ordered the lamb chops, and the lamb must have been born that morning they were so small. Two of those were piled on top of pearl barley and gravy, accompanied by one slice of carrot, and what he described as "the sheep's skin!" Surprisingly for a place surrounded by lovely fresh locally produced vegetables there were none with his meal. Whatever happened to 5 a day? Without wishing to continue in detail to bore - I found the place over priced, and think it's reputation is based on a lot of pretentious nonsense because it is fashionable to buy local produce. That said, our waitress was very friendly, and service was delivered with a smile. We will return for breakfast, but never again for an evening meal!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hands down best restaurant in Canterbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

whenever the opportunity arises to have a really nice meal in Canterbury I always opt for the Good Shed- the food is exciting interesting and just tastes so utterly fantastic. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafael's also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Rafael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafael's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.