We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but the poor relation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howletts Wild Animal Park

Howletts Wild Animal Park
Bekesbourne Lane | Bekesbourne, Canterbury CT4 5EL, England
+44 (0)844 842 4647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Attractions in Canterbury
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Howletts Wild Animal Park is a 90 acre adventure in beautiful ancient parkland that is ideal for great days out in Kent with the entire family. With the Howletts Passport ticket you can come back time and time again for a whole 12 months. Check out our Passport Events for 12 fantastic reasons to come back and enjoy the adventure again...
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good but the poor relation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We live close to this zoo so have visited many times. There are a good variety of spectacular animals including some favourites such as the elephants, gorillas and tigers. Over the past few years the magic seems to have gone from this park but there is no denying that the animals appear healthy and happy. In comparison to other similar local attractions, there is not quite as much value for money and the sister park, Port Lympne is certainly superior.
Nevertheless we feel privileged to be able to see such wonderful examples of endangered animals and Howletts should be commended for the environment in which they are kept.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    145
    48
    28
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Faversham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are regular visitors and are seldom disappointed.Not a traditional zoo where exhibits are paraded at all times.Sometimes some animals may be absent due to the work of the park, either in maintenance or concentrating on returning animals to the wild.I think some of the critcisms I have read are ill-founded but we all have a different outlook I suppose.Three generations of our family have liked and learned from our visits despite buggies and old age ! All attractions are expensive these days because it costs so much for them to survive and it is illogical to try to compare this project with smaller, less comprehensive collections. It is not a circus it is a major example of conservation where visitors can visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great time to go to Howletts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went to Howletts last weekend when it was really warm, thought the animals might be sleeping but they were all out. Fab time to go. Lots of babiy animals everywhere, so cute.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and empty, dirty cages, a huge disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Overpriced for what it is, most animals not available to see, old unkempt SMALL cages especially for the snow leopard which was upsetting to see, poor cages for photographers to get a picture, really disappointed. You can travel another couple of miles and visit Wingham Wildlife Park for half the price and actually see animals, well kept and happy! Certainly won't be visiting Howlets again even with a free all year pass, maybe that's why it's free as I certainly wouldn't pay to go again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This place considers animals above people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ive been going to Howletts for many years and the place doesn't really change that much. Although there is a need to raise much needed funds, commercialism hasn't really taken hold thankfully.
The focus is and always has been on the animals who roam in wide open spaces and are tended to by highly dedicated staff
with the animals welfare strongly at heart. There is a lot of great work being achieved here in raising and releasing animals back out into their natural habitat. Well done Howletts

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howletts Wild Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Howletts Wild Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howletts Wild Animal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.