We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue with excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canterbury Cathedral Lodge to your Saves list
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£89
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Canterbury
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great venue with excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent New Year on a three day package at Cathedral Lodge and were thoroughly impressed with the excellent staff ( nothing was too much trouble and all were a delight to deal with). The situation of the hotel, right opposite the cathedral, could not have been better ( if possible get an upstairs room for the view). Breakfasts were well presented and good quality, served with a smile and the New Year dinner was amazingly good ( to cook fillet steak properly for that number of guests was a serious achievement)
The only downside, which stopped me giving them 5 stars was that the beds were a bit soggy and I do prefer a firm mattress
Nevertheless if and when we return to Canterbury we will definitely stay here again and have already recommended the hotel to several of our friends

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate the New Year at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review your stay - your kind comments are much appreciated by the team.

Thank you also for the feedback on the mattress quality. In addition to other guest feedback in the same vein, I am pleased to advise that we have ordered new Hypnos orthopaedic mattresses to replace any in situ that are of a less than 100% acceptable standard, in order to ensure a perfect night’s sleep for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    182
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
86
361
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I love visiting Canterbury Cathedral. It seems to me that every time I go inside I see something that I have never seen before. So much wonderful architecture and history going back centuries.
The other week I had the pleasure of staying in the Cathedral Lodge. What a first class experience. It is like a hotel within the grounds of the Cathedral. The price is very reasonable for the standard provided. In addition to which there is an opportunity for free parking and an entrance into the Cathedral. Knock those two off the bill and it is a bargain.
Our room overlooked the Cathedral, to see floodlight it in all in magnificence was breath taking. Husband was worried about the noise of the bells but that was no problem. In fact he loved it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us when last visiting the Cathedral, and moreover that you enjoyed our location within the Precincts! We do hope that you are able to stay again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on New Year's Eve as part of a New Year's Eve package, staff couldn't have been nicer. A really special New Year's Eve, party was perfect, food was out standing, entertainment very good, everyone worked very hard to make the whole thing special. A big thank you to all staff.Our bedroom was spotless, chocolates on the bed were a nice touch, my only moan was that the bed did not feel very good quality, we are used to a super king size at home so sleeping in a double bed felt very small, but this would not stop me staying again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are have been thrilled to receive so many positive comments about the first of our New Year’s Eve packages and are therefore delighted to find that you an enjoyable stay.

I would like to assure you that all beds are of a standard size and a regularly checked by our Housekeeping Team, however I can of course quite appreciate that this is no super king size!

Wishing you a very Happy New Year,

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights - the 30th and 31st December and went to their New Year's Eve Gala Dinner.

This is a great hotel. The staff are genuinely welcoming and are really interested in making sure you have a pleasant stay.

Breakfast on both days was great and the Gala Dinner exceeded our expectations with excellent food and top class service.

If you are visiting Canterbury this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed our first New Year’s Eve Gala Dinner.

Kind regards & wishing you a very Happy New Year!

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Staff extremely helpful and accommodating - had booked a double but checked into a twin, they immediately rectified the error and had a complimentary drink to compensate inconvenience. Fantastic location especially at night when the cathedral is lit - wonderful shops and restaurants all within walking distance - will definitely be staying again!!

Room Tip: most rooms overlook the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Please accept my apologies for any confusion on arrival, but I am delighted to hear that we were able to rectify this and that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. The room is clean, the bed is comfy, and the view of the cathedral is unbeatable. Staff are welcoming, attentive and always willing to help. Breakfast is included and is fantastic including some dishes to order (eggs and toast, for example). Location couldn't be better: inside the cathedral walls; this alone is amazing as you can get a view of the cathedral without the crowds either before they open or after it closes. The close up view at night is priceless. Staying at the lodge also gives free entrance to the cathedral.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such a glowing review of your recent stay with us. We a thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our visit and our location within the Precincts of Canterbury Cathedral and do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day here it was a lovely experience to stay so close to this wonderfull cathederal views at night are awesome as the cathederal itself is went to two services on Christmas Day wonderfull experience, as for the hotel it is very comfortable and staff very welcoming rooms are comfortable nice to look out of the window and see the cathederal so close. Breakfast was lovely as was the staff can't fault the place.

Room Tip: One on the top floor facing the cathederal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you choosing to spend time with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge at Christmas. It was a pleasure to share the festive period with our guests in such a special location and we are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

With kind regards & good wishes for the New Year.

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.