We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blessed peace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canterbury Cathedral Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Canterbury
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Blessed peace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The price for this accommodation reflects the unique experience provided of "living" in a cathedral.Perfectly located for exploring the charming town surrounding its walls.Whilst the rooms don't necessarily justify a four star tariff(dark unlit shower,inadequate storage space for two people,) the facilities;-peaceful library space,outdoor seating,free access to cathedral and grounds, marvellous served breakfast and all round sense of serenity,against the soundscape of pealing bells....(together with service from all the friendly helpful staff) were just memorable.Great comfy bed,extremely quiet room, delightful window seating.Well done to the Anglicans.
(loved the cheeky "Vatican hair salon" just outside the main gates too!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location within the grounds of the Cathedral Precincts and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Our bedrooms have been recently upgraded and whilst simply furnished, we do hope that you will agree this has been done to a high standard with the wonderful view of the Cathedral from the window being the highlight!

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    168
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
75
317
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
faversham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for three nights last week. The location is exceptional. Staff friendly. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the bathrooms impeccably clean and the facilities excellent. The bed might have been longer ~ but I slept better than at home.
Breakfast and meals were of the highest standard. You sense this might not deliver ~ but the food quality was excellent. Those were chefs in there ~ not cooks.
Externally, the private garden over looking the cathedral, the access to worship, the immediacy of it all; superb. Gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. You are absolutely correct that our fantastic team of chefs cater for a wide range of events, including breakfast every morning!

We do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Searching for un traditional places to sleep on all my travels for my blog: maturesolotrave, I stayed at the lodge on the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral. An easy walk from the train station along the walls of the city. once you check into the lodge you have full access to the cathedral and may even stay for choir practice or on the day I stayed, organ music. a few dozen people in this massive structure does not interfere with the sense of being alone.
I tried to imagine all the pilgrims and town people hundreds of years ago standing and the nave listening to the service.

the hotel has a newer wing with elevators, more costly and some with a view of the church.
I stayed in the older building. a staff member helped me up the stairs with my luggage! the room was updated, very comfortable bed, larger than most of the hotels I book.

the town was 1/2 block from the door to the hotel! An easy way to explore and return during the day. There is a library lounge with wifi,(as well as the room) and an amazing hot breakfast with table service.

this is a hotel I would book even if it didn't have such an incredible addition of the cathedral.

since I was on a blogging trip to write, the only problem was there was only outlet I could reach. the second outlet was behind a heavy desk

Room Tip: basic rooms are in the older building (rooms updated) without an elevator or view, pay more for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your wonderful review and for providing such constructive feedback for our future guests. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge when writing your bog and if you decide to return to the City, we hope to see you here again!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Lodge many times over the past couple of years. Our first visit was in March 2011 and we have been returning ever since. We have stayed in each and every room 'type', including the Value Rooms and Accessibility Rooms, and have never been disappointed. The cathedral view rooms are charming, with great facilities, including a brand new TV with plenty of channels. The breakfast is of the highest quality and is served in the Refectory. There is plenty of choice and you can have your cooked breakfast made to order. The fact that you can roam the Precincts after hours, without the general public is truly special and a unique feature of the hotel, as well as the free Cathedral entry pass throughout your visit. The staff are always very welcoming and accommodating and never fail to be extremely courteous and helpful at all times. Canterbury itself is an extremely beautiful, historic and versatile city and the Lodge is a great place to return to again and again. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Canterbury. There is no need to change a thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for providing such a glowing review! It is wonderful to hear that you have returned on so many occasions and we are delighted that you have so enjoyed your stays with us.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I do hope that we will be seeing you again soon.
With kind regards


Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We held our wedding reception at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and then had over 30 guests stay there afterwards for the night. I couldn't fault anything about it. The staff were fantastic, very helpful and efficient, right from the planning of it all to the actual day. The food was delicious and what a wonderful setting with the beautiful walled garden and photos in front of the cathedral itself. I can't recommend this venue highly enough as a wedding reception venue and also for its smart, comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure to host your wedding reception here and we are delighted that you chose to share your special day with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

I will of course be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team and we would like to take this opportunity to wish you every happiness together.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales Uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We were able to park in the Close which made it much easier to unload and load again.
The room we had was small but comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly.
Most of the historic sites are within fairly easy walking distance and their are plenty of places to eat.
We would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us and I will be certain to pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team. We do hope that you return again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First, I should point out that we stayed in one of the "value" rooms, which is in a separate building somewhat behind the main lodge, though still on the grounds of Canterbury Cathedral. However, despite not having all of the amenities of the main lodge it was only about 60% of the cost and a definite value. The website stated that the room would not have wi-fi, though a weak signal was available. Also, the website stated that the rooms did not include a view of the cathedral, so we were delighted to find that the room did have a view, though it was partly obstructed. These may vary in other rooms. The room itself was basic, but comfortable. There was an electric tea kettle, TV, etc. All of the value rooms ARE on the second floor and there is NOT a lift, so keep this in mind.
Staying in the lodge did provide us with free access to the cathedral (normally 9.50 pounds per person!) and we did get a complimentary English breakfast, which was superb. By far though, the very best benefit of staying in the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge was being able to wander the grounds after they close the cathedral. The only people on the grounds were the other people in the lodge. My wife and I wandered the outside of the cathedral at sunset, which was an awesome experience in and of itself, but being able to do it with no one else around is priceless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our special location within the Precincts.

We do hope that you are able to return soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Address: The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.