We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Save
You added The White House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was enchanted with The White House! Loved the tasteful decor throughout, the comfort of my en-suite room, the location in the heart of Canterbury - almost next door to the superb Marlowe Theatre - yet in a quiet, pretty street. Adrian was a very welcoming and helpful host. The breakfast was excellent and I really enjoyed the freshly-cooked food served in the attractive dining room. I'd recommend The White House to anyone wanting a lovely base (with a bit of interesting history attached) in Canterbury.

Room Tip: As a single traveller I had a room at the top of the house at the front, and found it very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    41
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
158
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing 2 night stay at The White House and would like to extend our thanks to host Adrian for making our stay so comfortable. From the courtesy calls prior to our arrival, to a warm welcome on our arrival and excellent advice and friendly service throughout our stay we have nothing but high praise for this great place. The location is incredible, so close to the High Street without any of the possible noise. The nearby car park and £5 daily vouchers available at the hotel meant we did not have to think about our car throughout our stay. The room itself, Rm 1, was immaculate, beautifully decorated, had the biggest and most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the pillows and duvets were soft and fluffy. The bathroom with large shower was lovely too. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a friendly manner. We certainly would have no hesitation to stay again if we were to be in Canterbury again and would certainly recommend The White House to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 1 was so peaceful - we were not once disturbed by noise of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very nice and tastefully decorated B & B, quite difficult to find modern B & B with history! Plenty of B & Bs in Canterbury with the olde worlde feel - but this is not for me! Room 5 was really nice, everything needed and spolessly clean. The whole house has a lovely feel to it and Adrian was most welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. I didn't have the cooked breakfast but there was a great choice if required and once again everything was tastefully done with a modern twist without compromising the history attached to the building. I would definitely recommend - especially so for the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Compared to the hotels in Canterbury this B&B offers great value for money with comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with a variety of different pillows which I like.

If you're staying for longer than one night I would recommend one of the larger rooms.

Little things like no indiviual shampoo and conditioners, only two milk pots and no radiator in the bathroom (only a heated towel rail) prevent this from being rated 5/5, however overall we had a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The White House is a beautiful old house with all modern amenities and furnishings, but retaining the character and charm of this listed building. It is within easy walking distance from the two railway stations and the bus station, in a peaceful side road, yet only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main street.
Our on- suite room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The tea/coffee making facility in the room was complimented by the provision of bottled water. This is, in my opinion, an important facility but not one that is found in many such establishments.
Adrian, our host, was extremely attentive and helpful with his local knowledge. Breakfast was excellent; freshly and individually cooked using quality ingredients.
We enjoyed our three night stay and to sum up I would suggest you look at the excellent White House web site - what you see is what you will get.
There is an abundance of eating establishments in Canterbury, but if one is looking for a traditional style pub offering excellent freshly cooked food we would recommend the Millers' Arms; only a few minutes walk from the White House. Adrian will give you directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Looking at the map before I went to Canterbury I thought I was like a 15 minute walk from the centre of Canterbury How could I be more wrong. One minute away from main street with lots to see and 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral. Parking 2 minutes away at five pounds a day payable to owners of White House for special parking ticket. Although I had a top storey bedroom, the room was very clean and had all my needs. Shower was fantastic. Hosts friendly and breakfasts good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I had a pleasent stay at the White House in Canterbury. We really liked the nice room which was very clean and kept clean during our stay. The bathroom is excellent and much better than what we have seen elsewhere in the UK. I was working monday till wednesday and although breakfast was usually first served from eight they were flexible and I had my breakfast at 7.15, cerials and coffee for me :). Later my wife got her breakfast and a traditional english breakfast was available from 8.00-9.00. Adrian was very helpfull we had a nice chat with him several times, we or most of all my wife got good guidance of what to see and where to go. We can only recommend the White House to any guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 6 St. Peters Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy staying in stylish accommodation, with all those extra little personal touches that make you feel special as a guest, then welcome to The White House. The property is an elegant Grade II listed Regency Town House, originally reputed to have been the retirement home of Queen Victoria's Head Coachman and built in 1825. Our 4 Star Highly Commended accommodation is especially suited to discerning guests seeking a small intimate property (regrettably we do not cater for children) and its ideal location, within the City walls, is an added bonus for those who enjoy soaking up the vibrant atmosphere of a University city and who appreciate good old fashioned personal service to the impersonality of national hotel chains. Rooms are furnished to ensure maximum guest comfort - large cosy beds to fall into after a hard days sightseeing, soft pillows, with cool contemporary white linens and quality furnishings to ensure a real 'home from home'. A few minutes walk (literally!) will take you right into the main High Street, so we are perfectly situated to browse all the best shops, restaurants and of course a 'must see' visit to the Cathedral and perhaps take in a show at the stunning new Marlowe Theatre.Parking couldn't be easier - across the road in the Pound Lane Car Park - with concessionary vouchers available to our guests at £6.00 for 24 hours ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.