We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamago

Tamago
64 Northgate, Canterbury CT1 1BB, England
+44 1227 634537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Noodle Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tamago brings Japan's 'ramen shop' phenomenon to Canterbury. It doesn't aim to offer fine dining but rather honest, authentic Japanese comfort food and speedy service in a fun, lively atmosphere.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Went to Tamago at the weekend. Very friendly staff and quick service. Food was very good as well. Definitely would go again :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I had never been to a Japanese restaurant before and my best friend paid for our meal for my birthday. We had a Bento box and both really enjoyed it. I especially enjoyed the pork done in ginger sauce with the sticky rice and pickles. The restaurant wasn't too fantastic, but the food and friendly staff well made up for this!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went with my family when staying the weekend in Canterbury. The food was good but was let down by the service. We all ordered food then 5 minutes later were told that they'd sold out of 2 of the main courses we ordered. When the mains came they messed up one Ramen which was meat instead if vegi which for a vegetarian is pretty bad. Saw staff chatting a few times but almost had to go to the main desk to get the bill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesrouth, Owner at Tamago, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We value all customer feedback good or bad as it helps us to improve, and clearly in this case we let you down. Generally the feedback on our service is very positive but perhaps in this case our staff were too relaxed and inattentive and for this I can only apologise. I will raise the matter with those concerned and make a general point to all staff that they should monitor all tables and be aware when customers need assistance, without of course being too intrusive. Please also accept our apologies for the mix-up with the vegetarian dish. Hopefully you will see from other reviews that the poor service you received was the exception rather than the norm, and that this will not deter you from giving us another chance one day.

Kind regards,

James Routh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oriental surprise in Canterbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The food is very fresh and extremely tasty, when its busy, you dont have to wait long at all for a table, makes a change from the other Japanese restaurant, much nicer. I will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Amazing and brilliant. Without doubt the best Japanese food I've had outside of Japan. Brilliant service. Great ambience - loved the Japanese music!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamago also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Tamago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.