We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canterbury Chaucer has excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Canterbury Chaucer has excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I often stay at Canterbury Chaucer Travelodge and, while the rooms are comfortable and the food good, the best thing is the staff. They are so incredibly helpful, and unfailingly pleasant and courteous with it. The cost is economical and the location excellent for Cathedral, Christ Church University and the city. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    79
    27
    11
    17
See reviews for
56
80
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel looked like it needed a refurbishment , dark reception, stair carpet threadbare, paintwork badly needed attention , the room was huge with just a bed ,a shelf for a dressing table with a kettle and mugs and a shelf above some hangers as a wardrobe it looked like the bailiffs has taken the furnature, the bathroom was tiny with just a shower no bath and the toilet just tucked behind the door

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Lorraine. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. This includes a clean room, comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen T.V and an en suite bathroom. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low. Feedback is invaluable and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let’s be clear. Nobody checks into a budget chain expecting fluffy towels, minibars or chocolates on the pillows. Nevertheless, I recall that even Travelodges used to offer a few basic niceties such as bedside tables (there weren't any), a bathmat (there was none) and a packet of cheap biscuits. Clearly, belts have had to be tightened and what’s left is a skeleton in flimsy clothes. Yes, everything is very clean, the bed comfortable and the shower good but the bathroom floor was a dingy grey cement composite and - despite a label asking guests to reuse their towels - there was no heated rail on which to dry them. In the bedroom, overhead lights looked fine but the bulbs were so cold and depressing you could use them for wringing confessions out of double agents. Bizarrely, there was warmer strip lighting behind the bed, but who sits in an easy chair facing the headboard? You couldn’t anyway since there's no easy chair. Another overhead problem was the smoke detector (I assume it was a smoke detector, and not another prop for interrogation) which had been fixed directly over the bed and whose tiny red lights blinked continuously on and off. It did at least explain the lack of bedside tables. Try to read in bed and you’d be driven mad. (Yes, yes, officer, I confess – the microfilm is hidden in the bedside table – uh, I mean the roomy drawers - uh, the safe - uh . . . willya just switch it off!)

If you plan to stay here, be aware that breakfast is not included and costs an extra £6.65 per person. I have no idea what it’s like because we went out to Carluccio’s, a short walk away. Parking, too, is extra, and you might want to take the free half-hour WiFi with a pinch of salt. We tried it and were offered only 15 minutes. Even if you spend only 5 minutes, though, you’ve used your allocation and you can’t return. One quirk – there’s a bottle opener screwed to the side of the tv unit so, if you’re the kind of person who likes to bring along your own crate of beer, you’ll probably enjoy your stay rather more than we did.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the car park; those at the rear overlook the fire escapes, the ventilati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for five nights. Location is great. Staff very friendly. Breakfasts were plentiful. Room functional - missed a set of drawers! No lift though not a problem for me. Outside could do with some tlc.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night. Booked well in advance and got a really good rate.

Travelodges are what you expect, basic but clean and functional. For £30 what do you expect?

Reception staff were really nice, although the absolute check in time rule is rather rigid and you could see it's hard for them to try explain it. If the room is ready, why not let someone check in?!

The room was quite cold and the electric heater was working full pelt - I'm glad it was quite a warm day anyway so I'd thinking again before booking here in winter.

The location is very good, right by the centre with an underpass under the road. In fact, it's a really busy road and I don't remember any noise at all in the room. Noise above from other guests, but that's to be expected I guess. noise from the road was non existent which I didn't appreciate whilst staying there.

Overall, it's what you pay for and good and functional which is what I needed. Just don't try book for a weekend of luxury, it's not what Travelodges are for.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stopped here before and find the location very good. There is a car park at the front which is a pay and display. The room this time seemed smaller than last and not many places to put things. No bedside tables and one small table with a tv on, so was a bit pokey, but still good for the price and location. It is a basic Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelodge is my hotel chain of choice when I'm on business trips and this one didn't work out too well.

I have only one single complaint but it's a significant one. The chap in the next room had his tv on all night- and I mean ALL night. He didn't have it on loud but the walls are wafer thin and it was sufficient to ensure I had the same night he did- sleepless.

By 7am he must have been feeling pretty tired because he started yawning. The first time it happened I thought there was someone in my room it was that clear and loud.

Canterbury is great and I was there on the hottest day of the year. I'd love to return for a social visit but sadly I will have to find an alternative if all the rooms are like the one I had on this trip- room 15 on the ground floor..

All other aspects of the hotel are fine. It is well situated, has car-parking if that's a requirement. Staff at check inn were great. The cafe-bar is fine and the waitress friendly and knowledgeable. It's cheap too of course.

Just put some sound insulation into your walls please.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central

Address: 63 Ivy Lane, Canterbury CT1 1TU, England (Formerly Swallow Chaucer Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built around attractive old House & retaining Regency appearance & atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central Hotel Canterbury
Swallow Chaucer Canterbury
Hotel Swallow Chaucer
Chaucer Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Canterbury Chaucer Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.