We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb eatery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt

Salt
13 Palace Street, Canterbury CT1 2DZ, England
+44 1227 788595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 243 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $15 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Local/seasonal/affordable
canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Rough around the edges, this new establishment will go a long way. I loved everything about this place and will be coming back soon as it is one of the two best restaurants in Canterbury. Deesons is the other one. Met the owner, he deserves to do well. Faultless food. Fantastic atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    54
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A great little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are in Canterbury for lunch or dinner this place is worth a visit. The place is small, has a great atmosphere with young, friendly, helpful staff. The menu is interesting (think tapas without the Spanish influence), so if you enjoy sampling different dishes rather than the normal starter, main course etc this is the place for you. We had a good selection of dishes which included almond and goats cheese balls and beetroot and cheddar flat bread, washed down with plenty of nice, reasonably priced wine. This is the place to go if you want a casual dinner with friends. I will be back and I will be recommending it to friends..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were looking for somewhere special to celebrate an anniversary, somewhere with excellent food but not in a starchy, stuffy atmosphere. Salt was recommended and fitted the bill exactly. After a week or so of reading the menu online and salivating in anticipation we ate here on 16 November and were very impressed. Relaxed, friendly, laid back but with very high standards of both service and food. We had five plates between two (we were hungry!) with two sides. The chilli-glazed mackerel, pigeon breast, and goats cheese with almond stood out but everything was excellent. Puddings were to die for! With friendly and efficient service and a very reasonable bill we had a top night out - everything we could have wanted. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Independent excellence in Canterbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend. Ate here on Thurs Nov 14. Sharing plates were prepared with care, tasted great and were good value for money. That the owners were unaware the restaurant is rated so highly seemed endearing if surprising. Canterbury needs independent eateries and if these guys continue in this way Salt will thrive. That it was busy until past 10pm tells it's own story...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Oooh lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Once again thanks to trip advisor we find a great little place which serves really wonderful tasting food! Small plates are how they advertise it but if there's just the two of you go for about 5 dishes ....then you won't leave hungry,the herring with quail eggs was really juicy and the beef cheeks melted in the mouth and the chicken bacon blue cheese with caramelised nuts was so simple yet perfect.our only problem was we are on a alcohol free month and they appear to serve some really nice looking beers.so that's our excuse to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.