We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt

Salt
13 Palace Street, Canterbury CT1 2DZ, England
01227 788595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 282 restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Local/seasonal/affordable
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Terrific!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I chanced on this restaurant wandering around town and we were so happy to have found it. Relaxed and informal, really nicely cooked food and very friendly staff. We had 4 or 5 five small plates which was filling and very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend the place. There was a really nice feel about the place and although we ate around closing we were left to enjoy the food at our leisure. I only wish it was closer to home!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    100
    32
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Too simple”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Read great reviews about this restaurant on Trip Advisor, however Salt did not live up to the reviews, maybe friends and families had a better experience. There is no answerphone to make a reservation when the restaurant is closed. Very overpriced for what you get. My friend spent £2 on just 1 prawn! When questioned the owner as to his claim that 85% of produced was locally sourced it tuned out they get their produce from ‘The Goods Shed‘ in Canterbury... just like saying you locally source and get it from your local Tesco.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best food in Canterbury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I moved to Canterbury 18 months ago and have sampled most of the local restaurants but the food at Salt is easily the best food we have had; We went for lunch and was so impressed, we had the meatballs and the pulled pork both of which were excellent and made me do a little dance in my chair (!) we also had a salad that was a great and the croquettes that were amazing. The service was also excellent and really friendly and the prices i thought were pretty reasonable. All in all the best meal we have had in Canterbury, that will now become a firm favourite and I would happily recommend Salt.

Totally magnificent and a must if you love good food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I visited Salt for the first time on Friday the 16th of August for lunch. We were very impressed by the friendly staff and the quality of the food. It was so nice to have well cooked tasty food that used ingredients of local suppliers. It was also so nice to have a menu based on the foods in season. Well done to everyone. We only wanted a half bottle of wine and although they did not list half bottles they were able to provide us with one. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Why overcomplicate when you can have simple, well-prepared and -presented dishes, in an unpretentious wood beam and natural light environment? Salt gets it all right - with good beer an added bonus!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.