We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canterbury Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canterbury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canterbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Canterbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything was just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The room, the bed and the breakfast and the environment was just right for a great nights sleep. Clean, comfy and close enough to town to be convenient. The facilities are ample for a good nights stay and I will stay longer next time to take advantage of the Spa and pool. Room was roomy and really clean and the bottle of water was a nice touch. The bed and the pillows were the best part? No complaints about the staff, they were all very accommodating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
24
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely clean hotel with superb friendly staff. The room was very clean with plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits (and more he we ran out). Did not get to use the pool or spa facilities but will remember this for next time. Small walk to the city centre but in a lovely quiet location.

Room Tip: We spent 1 full day/night here. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother. Very clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a three night break for our 40th wedding anniversary and felt that we had struck gold with the Canterbury Hotel.
The rooms, while not spacious, had been recently decorated and are very well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and HUGE. It must class as one of the widest beds I have ever slept in !
The bathroom was a good size with an extremely good (and powerful) shower above the bath. The bathroom had also been recently upgraded.
Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of food from the menu (I recommend the Continental Breakfast with cheese and ham ). The service is unhurried but this is because everything is cooked to order and therefore very good.
The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to make their guests feel welcome. They have a list of good restaurants in the city centre which is very informative and useful. Well worth asking for at reception
As the hotel is only about a mile from the Cathedral i would recommend it for a weekend visit.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel (above the Spa) are quieter because of the busy main road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a two night stay in a twin room - the facilities were good with a choice tea in the room and well equipped modern bathroom.
The shower was over the bath but it was a bit low - my head was touching it and I'm only 5'9"! The beds were very comfortable but there was no air conditioning so the room was quite warm.
The service was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was uninspired and could have been better with more interesting choices. The car park was very small and we had to park on the street one evening. Overall did have a nice stay and felt more than comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay in Canterbury fairly regularly and just discovered the Canterbury Hotel. It looks a bit old fashioned from the outside, but the facilities and rooms are very contemporary. I didn't use the pool but it looked great. Car park is a bit compact ! But the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night here during a 12 day trip to England and France. I wish we had spent all 12 nights here. The staff was outstanding, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was by far the most comfortable on on our trip. The hotel is small and quaint, but the service is par for a Four Seasons. The price for four adults in two rooms was 200 pounds. Very reasonable. Breakfast that was included was also the best we had on our trip. We will return to England someday and spend more time in Canterbury, and definitely stay at the Canterbury Hotel. It's a short walk to the cathedral and other attractions. The Deep Blue Sea restaurant down the street served a very nice fish and chip meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived early Friday afternoon with a party of 4. Our room was not quite ready so we went off to explore the Old Cathedral in Canterbury and enjoy the many pubs/cafes along the way..Had a bite to eat at the local Fish and Chips conveniently located just down the street. When we finally returned for our check-in much later in the evening we were enthusiastically greeted by Alex, a wonderful young man who could have not been more gracious and welcoming. Only to find out during our conversation that he had been there all day and returned for a double shift after a last minute sick call by a colleague. I am sure he was well worn out but you would never know it by his big smile and friendly disposition. We found the rooms extremely comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast was pleasant surprise with their offering of cooked to order eggs and all the accompaniments(sausage, bacon, toast etc. If there were any down sides it would be not having a swimsuit to enjoy the lovely pool or the bit of a walk into the old town. We were lucky with the beautiful weather so in the end-the walk was manageable. We would definitely stay there again.. Thank You Alex and staff for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: The rooms were newly decorated in a pleasing palett and were immaculate! Also enjoyed the free onsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canterbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Hotel

Address: 140 Wincheap | Kent, Canterbury CT1 3RY, England (Formerly Thanington Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining Georgian elegance with excellent service, Canterbury Hotel offers a variety of 15 en-suite rooms. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, bar offering extensive range of malt whiskies. Beautiful courtyard garden providing an oasis to relax in. Free wifi in all rooms and a secure car park. Breakfast and VAT is included in the tariff. Short walk to city centre and train station; ideally located for the Channel Tunnel and Port of Dover. Fantastic spa which will be available from November 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Canterbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canterbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.