We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a library, museum and has a cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge

The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge
18 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RA, England
01227 452747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 148 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It is a library, museum and has a cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

What I like is the museum has a lot of stuff to engage children. They have an area for children in nearly every room to draw, colour or play. Parents can walk around different rooms and appreciate the art pieces without distraction, at least for a while. The paintings by artists in Canterbury are beautiful, which I don't think you will see elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    57
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you're shopping and fancy something a little different we highly recommend popping in and see the exhibits they have here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting and well laid out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We popped in here for the tourist information (and to use the loo, to be honest) while waiting to be hungry enough to eat, but we couldn't resist a quick look round some of the exhibits. We were impressed at the thought behind the displays - we liked the novel approach of colour-coordinated displays of birds, butterflies, animals and minerals - and there are some fantastic items from travel to different parts of the world.
We don't have small children now, but thought that the worksheets we saw would work for primary aged kids and maybe, with adult help, for pre-schoolers.
Apart from the special exhibitions (which we did not visit), the museum is free and well worth an hour or so of your time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Beaney always provides a break for the kids when we are shopping in Canterbury. It's free, interactive and interesting and not just for the children. The staff are very informative and engaging.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cultural..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I thought the museum was quite cultural with the exhibits it currently shows, such as foreign weaponry and drawings of famous Kentish residents, among other things. The promise of a library was disheartening to me because I saw no books at all and when I asked about seeing the "many" books available, I was told quite bluntly there were none. All in all, I enjoyed the museum as I got to see the original layout and some staff were nice enough to say what the building was originally used for and also told me what some of the exhibited items were and what they were used for. Would definitely come back again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge also viewed

 

Been to The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.