We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and with a spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ann's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ann's House to your Saves list
Ann's House
63 London Rd, Canterbury, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 71 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Comfortable and with a spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I spent three nights in a single room there. My room had vintage furniture, it was nice and clean. It was also cleaned every day. The manager was very polite and helpful.
The location is also great - a 10-minute walk from the center, close to some good pubs and a supermarket.
It also helps that you can book it online through Canterbury's tourism website.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    10
    4
    11
See reviews for
16
34
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked for a double bed room at Ann's over the phone, a day before 27th September and I got it for £80/night. When I arrived there I was given a double bed and a single bed room instead, same price. It usually take me time to fall asleep in other same price hotels but here the best part of it are the beds, especially the sheets and the pillow, they're very comfortable, very soft and it smells clean & fresh.Usually i get either soggy or hard pillows. Its on the roadside but its was fairly quiet. The room & the bathroom was clean, with nice and strong shower though the bathroom floor is squeeky and denty to walk through, and there was a hole on the floor behind the toilet bowl where noise,( though not disturbing) is coming from other rooms or work like coming from the kitchen downstairs. There was an old wardrobe in the room but I have to keep my clothes in my suitcase as it stank of some used clothes like from a drunken person. The breakfast is very satisfactory and the lady who tend to us, who is probably the owner as well is very polite. Although the room I was given was a plus for the probable reason that it was the only room left available when I booked it a day before, the price might still be pricey for an old refurbished bed & breakfast hotel. However I had a looked on the internet for other bed and breakfast similar to it around Canterbury center, they're almost all the same nowadays. Maybe because its much closer to the city center that you can just walk to it in 10 min. It's just a bit too early for their checking out which is 10 AM whereas in other place or in an actual 3-4 star hotel is 11-12noon..Overall, I will still go back there and will still recommend it if you're looking for a reasonable value for you comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Better to call the hotel if there is a number provided to negotiate about the choice of the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wanted a weekend out of London given the heat of the summer. Ann's House is a delightful place and easy to find. We arrived slightly earlier and there was a note on the door with helpful instructions that the owner was out and would return later. I phoned her and asked if it was ok to park up our car and walk into Canterbury, which she said was not a problem. When we got back me met her and she was very friendly and helpful.
We were shown to our room at the top of the stairs. The room was beautifully aired and had a refreshing cool breeze. Our room had everything we needed, the bathroom was modern and very clean.
The proximity to Canterbury was fantastic, it took us only minutes to get to the Cathedral. And I hadn't realised what wonderful shopping there is in Canterbury.
This was a most enjoyable weekend, 2 nights was not enough. The staff were just wonderful always smiling and could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: We were the first room on the right on the landing. It looked over the back garden and was very pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked 3 nights here for my husband and I and my mother. We were met by a very rude dirty lady whose greeting was to shout where we had parked . ( no bays, no signs to indicate where to park) On entering the house she disappeared locking herself in a room ! She reappeared to inform us that room was open but no keys as owner not in ( despite us informing arrival time) Some rooms had been refurbished but not ours !!! Small basic bathroom and rude welcome we decided not to stay . The lady who greeted us replied that she did not blame us as she would not stay there either! Enough said ! ... Avoid .......

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived to a friendly welcome and shown to a spacious clean and tidy room with a huge four poster bed.
The house is a 10 minute walk from the city centre and there are plentiful places to eat and drink without having to bother with driving or taxis.
Breakfast is probably early for some (0730 - 0830) but we are early birds so it suited us fine.
Good parking
Good breakfast
Good service
Good location
Good friendly, attentive and chatty owner

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our spacious room , first stay in a four poster!
Room was immaculate and breakfast was very tasty and very generous
Nice to be able to leave the car and walk into Canterbury and the station was also handy for a trip to London
A box of chocolates in the room was a nice surprise during our stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our few days and would love to return to see more of the area
Thanks for a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Request the four poster room overlooking the garden at the rear of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Convenient 10 minute walk to centre of Canterbury and with off-road parking you can leave your car during your stay. We had one of the four poster rooms and it was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was nice and early for a change (7.30-8.30) as we like to get out early to make the most of our days when away. Lovely surprise of box of chocolates on return to our room on second day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's House

Address: 63 London Rd, Canterbury, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ann's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann`s House Hotel Canterbury
Anns Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.