We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Fish Bar

City Fish Bar
30 St. Margaret's Street, Canterbury CT1 2TG, England
01227 760 873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Came across this gem of a chip shop the cone of chip brilliant value staff very friendly well worth a visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great fish n' chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've enjoyed delicious fish n' chips in Galway and Dublin, Ireland, as well as in London, so my expectations were very high - "City Fish Bar" was great! The fish n' chips were delicious, and may I say perhaps the best I've had! My partner and I ate there three times during our three day stay in Canterbury. The service was friendly and the portions generous. If you like fish n' chips, you're in for a treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best chippy in Kent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Best chippie in kent, you can tell by the hundreds of people milling around outside all the time, the staff are always friendly and the food is lovely. Been there many a time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing! Whenever we shop here we always go to this chippy and then City Crepes for dessert. Lovely food and the chips are always really chunky and covered in salt and vinegar. Really can't complain. Pay them a visit soon!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chip portions are getting smaller and the prices getting higher!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The profit margin here must be massive!! It is only fried potatoes at the end of the day!! Come on!! Stick some more chips in the bag and give better value for money at £1.50 for a tiny portion!!! The aimless neck bobbing pigeons look fruitlessly for any spare chips dropped, but you're out of luck boys!! Theres not enough to go round in the first place!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to City Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Fish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.