We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatlace to stay in Canterbury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magnolia House to your Saves list
Magnolia House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 St. Dunstan's Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Yeovil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Greatlace to stay in Canterbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Arrived in the morning, made extremely welcome. House and rooms exceptionally decorated, very clean with everything you could wish for in the room. I would recommend the Magnolia house to anyone who want to stay in Canterbury.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
44
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The attention to detail that Isobelle creates is nothing short of amazing.
Clearly a love of providing a showcase of her tastes and styles, which in a privately owned B&B makes a nice change from chain properties.
Fantastic quality ingredients at breakfast and piping hot.
Very comfy bed in thre garden room - personal taste aside, an all round good package, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My partner and myself stayed for a weekend break while visiting family and found this guest house totally exceeded our expectations. The host even taxi'd us to our event on our first evening there! I have to mention the breakfast...being vegetarian its great to see a full English veggie breakfast on the menu and the eggs are fresh daily from the owners chickens :-)
Will definitely go again as they have a great family room with a link though to a twin bedroom both providing a secure room for the children with the advantage of them not being in the same room!

Room Tip: Our room was quite small (room 3) but I noticed that the others were larger...the room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My two friends and I stayed here for two nights (Friday and Saturday). On arrival we were offered a drink and were shown to our rooms (one single and one twin). Everything was very clean. The shower/bath was excellent but the shampoo, shower gel and conditioner were all in tall, narrow glass bottles which balanced precariously over the bath. My roommate knocked her ankle on the bed and when we lifted up the valance we discovered that the underbed drawer was stuffed so full of bedding that it had broken and was sticking out.
The whole house was full of bric – a – brac which made the place feel very cluttered. Upstairs there were superfluous mats and runners in the halls – a real trip hazard.
The breakfast was very tasty and there was good choice but I was roundly told off for putting our milk jug on the table (“use the mats please”) We noticed the other breakfast tables had tablecloths.

I pointed out to my hostess that the butter I had been given (individual butter dish with lid) had been used already and her apology was barely audible. The honey was in individual jars but they were sticky on the outside and then I realised that all the seals were broken and they were old jars that had all been refilled.

I would have discussed all of the above to the lady of the house but, apart from the fact that I was on a very special weekend with two friends and did not want there to be an “atmosphere”, our landlady was so surly and standoffish that, quite frankly, I did not feel inclined to talk to her at all. She actually only smiled at me when I handed her £110 for the two nights.

I would not recommend staying here unless the whole place was given a good clear out and the landlady cheered up a bit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hostess was very professional and a bit aloof. This was more of a guesthouse than a bed and breakfast and so if you are looking for that type of place -- it is fine. We prefer to stay in bed and breakfasts where we can meet other guests and get tips on things to see and do and share stories. The room was very small but the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. We felt quite rushed at breakfast and had to chew and choke to leave the room by 10 am.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore London
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Excellent location near to centre of Canterbury. Small but comfortable room with lots of nice touches, minifridge with complimentary wine, water & beer. Nice decor if a bit tired.
A pity nobody had cleaned the toilet and hand basin since the last guests.
Pleasant garden for use by guests. Breakfast good but served in silence, owner has a rather aloof manner, and not very welcoming. Same applied at check in & out.
A bit more charm to match the facilities would make all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstans, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
I am sorry that there was the awkward situation on your departure, when you had forgotten to bring your Daily Mail vouchers with you in order to claim the substantial discount for the room, but thank you for putting them in the post, even though they were incomplete. I am also really sorry that everyone, including you, arrived very early and all at the same time, before the normal check-in time, so there wasn't the chance to spend the usual amount of time with you that we would normally have done.
All the bedrooms have recently been enlarged and completely refurbished and are cleaned meticulously daily - if there had been any slip in our very high standards, I would really have appreciated being told so at the time or during the many times you were asked if everything was alright and to your satisfaction, and then I could do something about it. Even though the girls were rushing to get the rooms ready for you before normal check-in, there is no excuse for any slip in standards.
As you told me you had enjoyed your stay with us, I just hope that your subsequent recollections have not diminished your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter when she visited the University. The owners had clearly thought about what guests might want - everything from a small fridge in the room to a clothes brush. For breakfast, there was a good choice of delicious fresh food. Magnolia House is easy to find, approaching Canterbury from London. There is off-street parking, and it's a short walk to Canterbury's quaint pedestrianised city centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Address: 36 St. Dunstan's Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Magnolia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.