We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Canterbury Tales

The Canterbury Tales
St. Margaret's Street, Canterbury CT1 2TG , England
+44 1227 479227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 148 things to do in Canterbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Travel with "Chaucer" and his band of pilgrims from the Tabard Inn in London to Canterbury Cathedral. Our costumed characters will introduce you to what is arguably the most famous collection of tales written in Medieval Britain. The handheld audio guide will then lead you through our stunning recreation of medieval England and lead you into five of Chaucer's most loved tales. These are tales of unrequited love, attempts at cheating death, bawdy infidelity and the chance to discover what every woman wants. . .Still as engaging for today's audiences as they were 600 years ago. Laugh with us and learn with us! The Canterbury Tales visitor attraction is the only attraction in the UK dedicated to this famous piece of English literature and is an essential addition to any Canterbury itinerary. Foreign language audio guides are available, as is a children's version (toning down the rather bawdy nature of the tales). This is also recommended for guests learning English. Under 5s are admitted free of charge but please be advised that children of a nervous disposition may find the low lighting and realistic models a little intimidating.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun little visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A nice way to start off a visit to Canterbury. Accept this for what it is, just a bit of fun, nothing high brow here, we really enjoyed the light hearted approach. Handy if you know the Canterbury Tales before you visit but not essential.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review - we are in agreement this is a good way to start your visit to Canterbury! Certainly not essential to have read the tales beforehand - you may even be inspired to buy a copy fron our gift shop afterwards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    142
    92
    34
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very poor not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was an attraction I had wanted to see every time I went to Canterbury and this time I was going to go as our guide had told us it was well worth visiting. Would I advise anyone else to go NO. I have never been so disappointed with an attraction so much in my life. The stories were OK however the figures looked as if they had been made by a nursery school at £7-50 for senior citizens it can only be described as a rip off. NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Naturally we are disappointed to read your review. We have made some fantastic changes in the last couple of months with the introduction of our costumed guides, which we think really help bring the tales to life. However, all feedback is welcomed, and we thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can smell the soul of Medieval times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very pleasant tour, loved the character that welcomes you in the first room!
You can smell and hear the Medieval Ages... very funny experience, a must to visit if you go with children!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review - really pleased you enjoyed it, and its great to get feedback for our new costumed guides. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Worth a peek if you can get discounted vouchers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Took my 8 yr old here today as a rest from shopping!!

The staff were fantastic, really helpful, friendly & clearly love their jobs!

You take yourself round using a 'remote control' style listening device that tells the tale as you go. Head sets would be better as my arm started to ache half way through!!

It is a strange place with added 'smells' & some what dated yet interesting & funny at the same time!

To be fair I wouldn't return & can't say I'd be impressed had I paid full price but my 8yr old enjoyed it & we all learnt something new from history so points for that at least.

Worth a trip if not paying full price :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks for leaving a review - it's nice to hear your 8 year old enjoyed it, and that you both felt you learned something. We have made some real improvements in the last 6 weeks or so, and would encourage anyone that hasn't tried it to come and give us a go. All feedback is appreciated, so thank you for taking the time to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was a lot of fun! Both the young and the young at heart should come see this! It was so realistic, you could even smell the barn and the animals in it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at The Canterbury Tales, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed it - and scoring 5/5 tops it off for us! Many thanks for taking the time to leave your positive review. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canterbury Tales also viewed

 
Chilham, Canterbury
 

Been to The Canterbury Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canterbury Tales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.