We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canterbury Heritage Museum

Canterbury Heritage Museum
Stour Street, Canterbury CT1 2NR , England (Formerly Heritage Museum)
1227 475202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 148 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Let down by the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is not a bad little museum, but at £8 a head it's a little steep. One imagines the price is inflated to make an offer to also buy a ticket to another museum in the city appear to be better value.

It covers a wide range of time, with lots of genuinely interesting artefacts in an interesting building. What really sold us on the visit was the promise of seeing the original Bagpus. This is in a tiny area of the overall museum, but it was great to see Emily's shop and all the characters in the window. As well as Noggin the Nog, Ivor the Engine, Pogles Wood and a couple of Clangers.

If you like Rupert the Bear, then there is a whole area dedicated to him.

We found the historic side interesting, but that did not engage the attention of our 14-year old.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A museum that awakes your curiosity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The only museum I have ever been on that was designed for everyone of all ages. They have areas for adults connected once in a while with children activites. You know the all history of the town without being too boring. The history is layed out in such a way that really awakes bit by bit your curiosity for more and more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“For children AND adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Some reviewers have said this is too child-oriented. Let me disagree. There is a detailed account here of the background to the murder of Thomas a'Beckett which covers more of the political and human complexity associated with this event than any other account I have seen in the town. The account here is accompanied by a 50' long detailed graphic story in original watercolours - a delight, which could, if you like, entertain an interested adult for half an hour or more. There are huge and detailed paintings depicting Canterbury in Roman times, in the Dark Ages and in Norman times. These captivating pictures have been made appealing for children, but there is an abundance of information for adults seeking to understand better the historical sweep. There are excellent exhibits taking the visitor century-by-century to the present. These are noticeable for the careful, discriminating selection of items for exhibit. Too often local museums are a dumping ground for bric-a-brac and curios donated by well-meaning citizens; the displays here show no sign of this - the collection is rich, but discriminating and, thanks to excellent layout, never overpowering. The section on the destruction of a quarter of Canterbury by German bombing in WW2 is particularly well-done - and chilling, to see photographs of the destruction and to realize it occurred where you are standing and within living memory. There is an actual Morrison Shelter. Canterbury does better than any other city I have seen in giving a balanced account of its history, not focusing only on what tourists might expect. The large Rupert section is about a children's fictional character, but it, too, has plenty for adults, with a recreation of Rupert's creator and her successors and how each of them went about carrying on the Rupert tradition and building on it.
The museum is a credit to the city and to the many experts who contributed to it. It's so good, I would like to have seen a section devoted to the contributors. I very rarely give 5 out of 5, but I can think of no reason for holding back.
I recommend you get a double ticket: entry to this museum and to Canterbury's Roman museum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Museum for the whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I read some of the previous reviews for this museum and was surprised to see complaints that it was too child oriented. That is a wonderful feature of many of the museums my son and I have visited in Britain. Engaging children in the learning experience, encouraging them to appreciate the concept of a museum, and see how history is really fascinating are all good things for the future of the culture. Old people stop complaining. If you don't want to learn how to write your name in the runic alphabet or design a tile floor then don't but maybe you might have some fun if you tried. This was a wonderful museum with lots of interesting exhibits, particularly the clever faux tapestry method of getting Thomas Becket's story told. My son really enjoyed that and it was fun following the little red dragon throughout the story. Also it might encourage people to reexamine the Bayeux tapestry to find all the clever things overlooked in the borders by most. My son was really sad they didn't have a book or some sort of copy of that in the gift shop. Actually my only complaint might be to say they could enlarge the gift shop. Also besides all the exhibits this museum is worth a visit for the beautiful old building it is housed in. Come on people museums just aren't about staring at things behind glass anymore-get interactive!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great find just off the main track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great little museum. Really enjoyed the history from pre-Roman, Roman, Anglo-Saxon, medieval, etc. Nice write-up on Thomas Becket as expected.

My favorite aspect was the 60' frieze (poor man's Bayeux Tapestry) that explains the Becket murder and aftermath. Really well done.

Children are free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canterbury Heritage Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.