We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cathedral Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Cathedral Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Nice little hotel in the heart of Canterbury. Nice, friendly, welcoming staff. Nicely preserved rooms, clean and comfortable beds with flat screen TV. The hotel is in the middle of town, so no need to walk very far. Downsides: Some rooms face out on to the street, so is very noisy. The hotel provides earplugs, but not nice NOT to get any sleep. Not all rooms are on suite. The guests are usually very nice, so don't mind sharing bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Dharm P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind words.

We're sorry to hear you found your room noisy. All the rooms facing the street have secondary glazing which helps to block street noise very effectively, but as we're aware some people are lighter sleepers, we do also place earplugs in the rooms.

As you mentioned in your review, some of our rooms have shared bathroom and toilet facilities. This allows us to offer accommodation also for those traveling on a budget, giving them, too, a chance to enjoy the hotel's magnificent views and location.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
71
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2nights, and can not wait to return, a warm welcome from the owners on arrival, bags taken to rooms, which are warm cosy and immaculate , the owners have it just right.
Canterbury is a beautiful town , the view of the cathedral from the hotel is amazing, So to find this Gem of a Hotel was the icing on the cake. highly recommended,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We make every effort to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, so it is great to hear you had a nice time staying with us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Best regards,
Iida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night short break at this most delightful hotel which has a very central location (the Cathedral can seen from many of the windows) and is full of character due to the age of the building but being brought up to 21st Century by incorporating modern facilities.

The welcome by Nick at reception was excellent helping us with our bags to the room and advising us on where best to park the car. The nearest car park is very handy only a few minutes’ walk away and very reasonable at only £6 a day.

Don’t be put off by the reception area the owners are refurbishing the hotel and have completed a great job on the bedrooms but are yet to get to reception area.

We stayed in a double room called Tranquillity the room was spacious spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was high quality and changed every day. The en-suit was very modern and the power shower luxuriant, high quality fluffy towels again changed every day.
Price includes a very substantial continental breakfast but can also recommend the full English option.

The owners and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and make you feel as a friend straight away.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cathedral Gate Hotel and will definitely be going back so please don’t tell too many of your friends let’s just keep it to ourselves or we might not be able to get a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough and positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury

Kind Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a fabulous hotel. It's a real boutique experience in the center of the old town. Eating, shopping and the Canterbury Cathedral. Could it be any better? I wanted to read Canterbury Tales while there, but everything at the Gate was so beautiful, I decided to put that on hold. Thanks Debbie, Nick and Oliver.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury

Kind Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The town has a cozy, old style theme to it and the hotel is no exception. Perfect place if you're looking for somewhere with a relaxing bed and breakfast feel. The hotel is booming with history st almost 600 years old and is located right next to Canterbury Cathedral and it's gate, giving an amazing view. The staff is friendly and cooks you a personal continental breakfast (or a more elaborate breakfast at your request). The hotel is very unique and right in the heart of the town and its top shops and restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. Feedback is always appreciated so that we can see how we are doing. We are delighted with your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Canterbury.

Kind Regards

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this fantastic hotel when visiting friends in Canterbury. It is full of character with fantastic views of the Cathedral to the rear and the Butter Market to the front. The floors are a little uneven but what else would you expect of a building dating back to the 14th century? The bedrooms have been tastefully decorated and furnished with quality products. Our room was absolutely immaculate, scrupulously clean and the bed incredibly comfortable.

The staff employed at the hotel could not have been more helpful and had an excellent knowledge of the city. Debbie, the owner, was happy to offer advice on shops, places of interest and even took the trouble to book us in to a fantastic local restaurant for an evening meal.

The full english breakfast was also excellent and the table service could not have been better. The meal was served in a room on the first floor, at the front of the building where you can people watch as you dine.

I stay in a lot of hotels for business and it was a joy to discover one of this quality, reasonably priced and full of charm and character. I will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Debbie, the owner, advised but the front room that I stayed in was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralGateHotel, Owner at Cathedral Gate Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always appreciate feedback and are delighted that you had such a positive experience at the Cathedral Gate.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to Canterbury

Kind Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is the type of hotel you'll either love or hate. What's to love? The hotel is full of character, with winding staircases, nooks and crannies, and old fashioned windows with views of the old butter market or the cathedral. The floors are seriously sloping and you get a generous continental breakfast included in your room price. The hotel is located as close as it is possible to get to the cathedral and is not far from the Channel Tunnel by car. Our bedroom and bathroom (Twilight) were modern and tastefully furnished and included tea and coffee facilities.

What's to dislike? Access is along a busy pedestrians only street, although you are allowed to use it to drop off passengers and bags. You may then have to park some distance away, after obtaining a discount parking permit from the hotel. If your room overlooks the street, you will hear noise from late night, often foul-mouthed and belligerent passers-by. The main entrance is up a steep staircase and reception is in need of smartening up a bit.

If you like modern, chain hotels or are unable to negotiate stairs, you may not like this hotel. Otherwise I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Gate Hotel

Address: 36 Burgate, Canterbury CT1 2HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cathedral Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Gate Canterbury
Hotel Cathedral Gate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.