We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Trappiste Restaurant

La Trappiste Restaurant
1-2 Sun Street, Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
01227 479111
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Trappiste Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Bakeries, British, Bistro, Tea Room
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The service was awful. The food was good but all of it came out at different times. We only ordered some toast and a cream tea. If they struggle to serve this properly I very much wonder what would happen with full meals ..... Very disappointing

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    168
    119
    54
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dinner & breakfast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was there three times in four days for dinner & breakfast.
Waiters provide you a good service and advice for beers can better fit with your food.
Breakfast with delicious cakes and a wide selections of tee.
At your choice having also more than 4 different kinds of bread served with butter and enjoy a small lunch.
Internet is free as guest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We love coming here and have Ben on numerous occasions. In the summer it's lovely sitting outside on the roof terrace and you can sit out all evening. We had our work Xmas dinner here and even though it was so busy; the quality of the food was lovely and the service was excellent. We returned for breakfast the following morning, and this to was perfect. Downstairs in the evenings you often have someone playing the piano which really creates a wonderful atmosphere at times you almost feel as though you are in Belgium! We love it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just for drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited La Trappiste last summer with my parents who were on vacation at the time. The venue is excellent with a good mix of old and new, providing a wonderful atmosphere for drinks with friends, the occasional bit of cake or a meal!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice breakfast, shame about the wait...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been here three times, first time quiet and service was reasonably quick, second and third it was busy and food getting out was incredibly slow, service seems chaotic, many people were getting the wrong dishes, on our last visit we were charged for a meal we didn't have, which we spotted and it was rectified straight away, but that should just not be happening I think they need to close for a day and just sort out what on earth they are doing, iron out the service issues and it could be wonderful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trappiste Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Trappiste Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trappiste Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.