We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The West Gate Inn

The West Gate Inn
1-3 North Lane, Canterbury CT2 7EB, England
01227 464329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 282 restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The West Gate Inn is a Wetherspoons located in St Dunstan's, Canterbury, there is no escaping that, Though it is one of the better wetherspoons, with the decor remaining more in keeping with the building. The food is the usual Spec Menu that you'll find in Spoons, but the staff make the best of it! The staff are friendly and clearly know what they're doing. The beer is well kept, which can be a problem in pub chains.
It fits in well complementing the venues around it. Lets Face it, if you're from the UK and you see a wetherspoons, you know what you're going to get, much like if you buy a coca-cola anywhere in the world. Its Food and Drink sold in high volumes at very reasonable prices
I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here, but if I happen to be peckish when having a pint, I wouldn't leave!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    6
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average Wetherspoons.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've had loads of wetherspoons food and usually love it as its a brilliant price and you get plenty.
This pub has a nice decor and layout inside. The breakfast was plentiful but my eggs were hard and they forgot my mushrooms and when they arrived they were cold anyway. Not bad but I've had much better ones.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Why go further?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Falstaff Hotel and after walking around Canterbury for hours we were too tired to venture further in the evening. We were not after "haute cuisine" and were very satisfied with the meals we had. We have had less pleasing meals which cost substantially more. The staff was very friendly and efficient and service was quick.. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A great british breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

open at 0800 for a full heart attack breakfast .
we had 2 with 2 regular coffees (not arty farty italian lookalikes) plus toast and quick friendly service.£10.00 what more do you want, local cafe charged £8 each for less.
thank you Weatherspoons will use you when you come to my home town Deal kent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West Gate Inn also viewed

 

Been to The West Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.