We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little quirky cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boho

Boho
27 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2AZ, England
01227 458931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 293 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice little quirky cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I really like Boho. Not the cheapest place in the world but the atmosphere makes it pretty special. The garden outside is lovely in Summer. Really nice both as a cafe and as a place for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    68
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie burger !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had delicious veggie burger , with choice of toppings menu is varied , not hug choice for vegetarians , the decor is fantastic and worth the visit , staff very friendly .
Could be improved by serving cava / prosecco by the glass , and better cakes - patisserie Valerie is across the street .

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was so excited to go to Boho for dinner but I was sadly disappointed.

My friend and I waited for an extremely long time for our starters and then an extremely long time for our main course.

We both felt that the food was very overpriced - and the wine list was expensive too.

we both had a chicken dish for our main course which tasted burnt and overcooked.

The staff were mixed - one really lovely lady and two rude and unpleasant.

I wouldn't recommend Boho from this experience. Although other people have enjoyed it far more.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Rude staff, sometimes ok food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were told to leave immediately after finishing a breakfast because there were people waiting for seats. We were rushed through the food. This is the second bad experience at this place. Previously the staff were insufferably rude, our food arrived barely lukewarmand and at the end their card machine did not work; as such I was left to wait at least 10 minutes before my wife came back from the ATM with casth.
The food is sometimes ok but everything else with this place is wrong. I won't ever be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Maybe an off day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were attracted to Boho on the Sunday morning as it looked somewhere fun and funky to have breakfast. They had just opened as well so thought we'd get in on the fresh morning brekkie! The staff were lovely and really relaxed. Service was prompt and I think we got there at the right time as it started to fill up quickly. They are really god with kids and they also have an option to sit in their little garden or out the front to watch the passers by. My partner had a full breakfast and I had a sausage sandwich. Unfortunately, from then on we both had poorly stomachs. My partner thougt the sausages had been microwaved. I honestly don't know if it was jsut an off day as they seemed to have a returning clientelle. The decor was quirky and fun and the staff really were great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boho also viewed

Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Boho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.