We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of rural France - in Canterbury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe St Pierre

Cafe St Pierre
41 St Peter's Street, Canterbury CT1 2BG, England
01227 456791
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 293 Restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A little piece of rural France - in Canterbury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have always been a fan of (nearly) all things French. I love France - it's food, it's wine, and it's general ambience. Incidentally, my father was a French American - so no bias there, then. Imagine how delighted I was to stumble across this delightful French cafe, right in the heart of Canterbury. The coffee was every bit as good as one would expect, and my pain du chocolat was out of this world. The only thing that spoiled the totally authentic atmosphere was the English-speaking staff! (You can't have everything). To sum up, I loved it, and my wife and I shall certainly be returning here as soon as possible. Lovely!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A pleasant cafe with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner and I went here for afternoon refreshments and enjoyed the experience. It is a small cafe with a French feel. The coffee was good and my Croque Monsieur was delicious and came with dijon mustard and raisin mustard in pots (you must try the raisin mustard!). We also had a slice of European cheesecake which was delicious but somewhat lacking creaminess in texture.
We were served by a number of girls all who were friendly and attentive.
The only thing I will say is that the board at the entrance inside only lists coffee prices for small sizes, and we did not know that they could make coffee in a mug. Had we known this we would have gone for a bigger size. So I think that the waitresses should bring this to the customer's attention when ordering at the entrance.
We would recommend Cafe St Pierre for those visiting Canterbury.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Somehow the appealing delights of the pastries in the windows suck me in everytime. A proper little french cafe on english soil. Lovely pain au chocolates and my favourite a 'smelly cheese' baguette frequently makes it onto the specials menu :). They have a little back yard with tables which is lovely in the summer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“French coffee, baguette and pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Charming cafe and welcoming staff. We had baguettes, coffee but couldn't resists the divine blueberry tart. An authentic treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very Nice Luncheon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Four friends out for a day in Canterbury. Whole street filled with the "multinational" coffee houses etc - ignore them all, come to Cafe St Pierre. We had tasy baguettes (many choices) savoury quiches and cheesecake heaven ! Really worth it - but it was much cheaper than I'd have paid in one of the "big name" cafe/restaurants along this street.

Good service and the owner on duty too - so no complaints, just a very big "thank you" to them all. The coffee was heavenly too - it tasted French, it looked French and it's aroma was french.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe St Pierre also viewed

 

Been to Cafe St Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe St Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.