We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome =)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Veg Box Cafe

The Veg Box Cafe
1-2 Jewry Lane, Canterbury CT1 2RP, England
01227 456 654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 282 restaurants in Canterbury
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome =)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Have visited here many times, as a vegetarian and a vegan! Always first class food! Had one hickup once when given buttered bread! Meal was unpaid with no quibble! Have been back lots since with no problems! Vegan meals are stunning, as is the vegan sweet/cake/ice creams! They have a kids/toddler/baby corner/area which can get noisy, but hey thats kids, they do not affect the quality of the food or service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    47
    15
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Awesome smells wonderful, incredible shop underneath, sells all manner of healthy goods and staff very helpful too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is the problem with vegetarian food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have nothing against vegetarian food, if its done right it can be very good, however I struggle to see how this place has got such good reviews. Upon entry we got a very stern look from the lady behind the till, maybe she could tell I was a meat eater.

As a result of many of the mains being sold out I ordered the chickpea casserole, with a promise of a variety of ingredients to make it flavourful. The service was slow and the dish was bland, heavy and stodgy, with it just being chickpeas and not much else, at more than £8 per portion this was a total rip off as the cost price of this dish would have been close to 50p, the drinks were expensive as well. I'm sure the militant veggies will ensure that this place does not suffer the same fate as the bizarre 'the hutch' (if only that place was still there I would have a very interesting review to write!) but I was not impressed at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faversham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

great place with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and home made food feel,the food is always fresh nutritional and tasty get there early as they sometimes run out of items(A GOOD SIGN) an excellent place for people who what to know what they are eating as they are tuned into the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I love this place and visit every time I'm in canterbury. Its above a health food supermarket. In a quiet location. Its quiet, comfortable with a warm, friendly atmosphere. There is a good choice of healthy food. Home made hummus is wonderful. Food is delicious. I usually go there alone and I find it very comfortable. Would recommend it and will certainly visit again and again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Veg Box Cafe also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to The Veg Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Veg Box Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.