We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Soleil

Cafe du Soleil
4-5 Pound Lane, Canterbury CT1 2BZ, England
+44 1227 479999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Pizza, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe du Soleil is situated beside the river Stour in Canterbury occupying a former 18th century wool store and is accessed by its own bridge over the river. The building was restored with a grant from English Heritage and showcases the extensive use of reclaimed building material from the 14C city wall. Our cuisine draws influence from Provence in southern France, and from Italy, to create a modern Mediterranean cuisine. The menu changes with the seasons, and much of our food is cooked in our wood burning oven, fed with locally sourced wood from managed forest.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visiting Canterbury today was taken by the appearance of Cafe Du Soleil.
Inside beautiful, service excellent, food very very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    103
    19
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quick, interesting lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I ate here with a friend and my 7 year old son. The restaurant was quiet although a large arrived while we were there. The menu was really interesting with some fairly typical meals and a lot of different items. There was pizza but also several fish dishes and some meat. We had a chicken sandwich and a halloumi salad, my son had pasta. The desserts were tempting, against my usual decision I had gingerbread and fruit trifle. It was stunning. Service was efficient and the lunch was good value. I would return to have an evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Found this by chance when visiting Canterbury. Location very convenient and once inside we found the ambiance great, staff welcoming and food excellent. So many times the deserts let a restaurant down - not here as they were superb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Took our two children for a meal out (after a long week of ballet rehearsals!) service was quick, restaurant is clean and airy, food was lovely, would certainly return.
Would say that the childrens menu was excellent - best I've seen for a long time and reasonably priced (girls just wanted dough balls that weren't on the menu! but the selection of pizzas and pasta was fab!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very good food, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The restaurant was empty when we arrived, a few people arrived shortly afterwards, but it was not very busy. We were therefore surprised at the slow service, although when the food was served, it was with a smile.

The starters of crispy squid salad was disappointing, but my daughter's starter of scallops and chorizo was lovely. We all enjoyed our mains and it was a very pleasant lunch.

We would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Soleil also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Cafe du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.