We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fish fondue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapman's Restaurant

Chapman's Restaurant
89-90 St Dunstan's St, Canterbury CT2 8AD, England
+44 1227 780749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 293 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $14 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nestled in the picturesque area of St Dunstans, Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie offers a fresh, honest selection of the region's finest catches. Optimising freshness and sustainability, Chapman's is the only restaurant owned by the fish wholesalers. In the bright, crisp dining room filled with whitewashed surfaces and solid beams, favourite delicacies include lobster, crab, mussels and oysters.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great fish fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were treated to a Groupon offer. We had a great night at Chapman's, good atmosphere, friendly staff and good size portions.
The fondue is a great idea, why is it not being extended during the whole year? I know several people who would like to experience the meal. We would recommend the desserts (if you have room for them)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    60
    25
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Seafood Supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visited for first time and we were extremely happy with the restaurant, the staff, and most importantly, the food. Felt the lunch we had offered excellent value for money and the food was well presented, well cooked and very tasty. We will be going back again when in Canterbury.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLKESTONE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a fantastic meal here 'Fish Rondue' with three friends and all of us highly rated the experience. The food was fresh, plentiful and tasty. Staff were friendly the service efficient and I really couldn't fault anything. Will definitely be going again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a Groupon offer so used it on my Father in laws birthday. They are certainly not one of those restaurants that give you less with a voucher! The seafood is so fresh you can practically taste the sea! All the fish was excellent, the idea of cooking it yourself at the table is such fun, although be warned, you will go home with your hair and clothes permeated!
The staters were delicious, my very unadventurous in laws both chose the special of Thai fish cakes which they loved. I had the squid, which they kindly served without tentacles for me! Delicious a lovely light batter and just the right amount of seasoning.
Only two of us had desserts, I had the chocolate tart with a pecan brittle, which also had a pool of caramel and a scoop of ice cream, all divine, but so rich I had to leave a bit of the tart! My other half had the chocolate mess which he said was delicious.
Even the coffee was excellent. The only think I would say is the waiting staff were dressed more for a day at the beach that serving in a restaurant, very skimpy tops and skirts! They were very attentive but the service was slightly slow, being quite busy and I think there were only 3 of them, but all very lovely girls.
We will definitely return, even without a Groupon!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great evening for fish lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Visited in a group of 4 for the fish rondue which is a fun and sociable way to engage with your friends. Everyone can cook their fish to their own liking with a selection of sea bass, salmon, monkfish, scallops and prawns-served with vegetables (to sauté), small salad and frites. We all thought it was great. The wines are reasonably priced which always helps and the waiting staff are fun and friendly. What is not to like? It is essentialy a fish restaurant but will cater for carnivores if you give them notice--There is usually a steak meal on the specials board in any event.
They are currently running a 2 course lunch for £12.00 (3 for£15.00) so why not pop in and try it.
Canterbury needs more of these specialist restaurants and fewer pizza/pasta places which dominate the High St.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Restaurant also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Chapman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapman's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.