We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapman's Restaurant

Chapman's Restaurant
89-90 St Dunstan's St, Canterbury CT2 8AD, England
+44 1227 780749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 282 restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nestled in the picturesque area of St Dunstans, Chapman's Seafood Bar & Brasserie offers a fresh, honest selection of the region's finest catches. Optimising freshness and sustainability, Chapman's is the only restaurant owned by the fish wholesalers. In the bright, crisp dining room filled with whitewashed surfaces and solid beams, favourite delicacies include lobster, crab, mussels and oysters.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came here for a relatives birthday and was not disappointed, the service and food was excellent and they catered well for vegetarians as well as people who were not so keen and see food. i had a fillet steak that was cooked to perfection. would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
What a lovely review.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    189
    51
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“outstanding Canterbury venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Without doubt a gem in Canterbury. I live fourteen miles away and would drive to this restaurant if it was 114 miles away. Not in the least bit pretentious. Doesn't style itself as a "Gastro" venue. But is as good if not better than pretentious seafood places sited not too far away on the Seasalter coastline. Any awards for cooking seafood should be heading in this direction and away from that particular beach.
Lovely friendly service,great food and a very acceptable wine list. Its a great pity some of the local chefs and publicans don't take note of what is currently being done at Chapmans.
I don't have shares or an interest in the brasserie but boy how I wish is did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for noticing the amount of effort the staff are making to ensure Chapman's is a great place to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seafood par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just outside city walls, this warm and welcoming seafood restaurant gave us a delightful evening. The fish is locally and freshly sauced, and prepared in a variety of ways to suit most palates. The staff and service was friendly, informative and efficient. Added to all this, the tables are spaced that you do not have immediate neighbours whose conversation you have no option but to overhear

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ate here last night having had it recommended by the owner of the b&b we are staying in. The service was first class and the food was absolutely delicious. I had something off the specials board and my husband had the baked cod with herb risotto. We couldnt fault it. Desert was delicious too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastically fast service and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have visited this restaurant before using a Groupon offer and we were very happy. This time it was without the offer and still we received excellent service and the quality of the food was just as good if not better. We put the staff under a bit of pressure as our meal was prior to the theatre and we didn't have a great deal of time. No problem at all and we got to see the show al in good time. Well done again Chapmans for consistency of food and friendly staff

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapman's Restaurant also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Chapman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapman's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.