We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No murders in this cathedral!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Falstaff Hotel to your Saves list
The Falstaff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 St Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Canterbury
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“No murders in this cathedral!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The historic Falstaff building dates from the 1400s, though there are much more recent additions. Its location is just a short walk to main street, shopping area and Canterbury Cathedral.

We stayed just the one night prior to embarking on a cruise at the nearby Port of Dover and it was very convienent for our needs. Our excellent ground floor room was in a separate annexe at the rear of the property - it had a huge amount of space and was beautifully presented.

As noted by other reviews the hotel does not have an evening dinner restaurant but there are plenty of pub and other options close by.

The staff were friendly and helpful making our short stay even more pleasant.

Breakfast (included in the tariff) was adequate without being spectacular, but it set us going for the morning.

Overall the Falstaff was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    243
    73
    26
    16
See reviews for
74
267
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Falstaff affords a very convenient place to stay in Canterbury, particularly taking the train to the West Station, but won't be confused with a luxury hotel.

Quick Pros and Cons

Pros: excellent location, historic nature of building, terrific and accommodating staff, comfortable bed linens and duvet, good breakfast, well-priced

Cons: fixtures are old and tired, decoration needs to be updated, low water pressure in shower and somewhat dated set-up

I want to point out that although normal check-in time is 15:00, I e-mailed the hotel indicating that we would be arriving after a trans-atlantic flight and asked if they could have our room ready for us around noon. I promptly received a courteous response to the effect that they would try and arrange for our room to be cleaned in the morning, but could not guarantee anything. In any event, when we arrived the desk clerk checked and our room was ready within 5 minutes of us completing our registration. Our room was a basic double room (#16) and was medium sized with a standard double bed but limited storage. It was certainly adequate but not luxurious by any stretch, but as we travel for the sites and not our accommodation, this was not a major problem for us and we got the room for a very reasonable price.

I had read prior reviews and yet was somewhat surprised to see a fair amount of duct tape patching worn carpetting on the stairs. I think at a minimum the hotel should invest in re-carpeting ASAP to provide a ready lift to the look of the premises. The hotel is not really run in a shabby way and is a comfortable stay (albeit a little like staying at your Grandmother's old house) so I think it should make some investment in modernising the decor and the bathrooms.

All in all, provided you are content with serviceable but not luxurious accommodation, I think you will find the Falstaff to be a solid choice all things considered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 on our mini-moon.
We had booked the fourposter room and we were not disappointed! The bed was huge as was the room, it was like a small apartment!
The decor is a little tired but you expect that from a hotel as old this one! We loved it as it was really old worldy with lots of quirkiness about it!
It was a great base for exploring the city and the staff were fab.
The poor night porter was kept busy by us until the early hours and he was just brilliant.
All in all, we couldn't fault this place and would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel are quieter - we were facing the main road and it can get a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We'd just returned from France and were looking for a stopover in Canterbury while we visited the Cathedral and other sights. Although we arrived before 3 pm the helpful receptionist said our room was ready. We'd booked a room in the Wood Mill block as it would be quieter. It was quiet and we could park our car immediately outside block's entrance. The room was clean, spacious with a comfortable bed and well equipped - everything worked bar one light bulb that was quickly provided; cleaning staff should be required to check all light bulbs each day! We knew that the Falstaff did not offer an evening meal but there is so much choice in Canterbury this is not a problem - unless it's a wet night! A drink in the bar after we returned was served by friendly staff. There was a good selection of food, hot and cold, at the buffet breakfast - one weak point was that the plates for the hot food were cold; it should not be too difficult for a hotel to provide a plate warmer. Although we checked out after breakfast there was no problem in leaving our car in the car park while we finished our sightseeing. A good hotel for a short stay, good staff; be prepared to eat out.

Room Tip: For a quiet night choose the Wood Mill although the rooms may have less character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Booked this hotel as it looked like it had atmosphere. Disappointed as our room was in the old corn mill much like a motel at the back of the hotel. Sheets on the bed so thin you can see the mattress through them. No mattress protector. Carpets in communal areas dirty with stains on . Chair in our room was ripped. Staff at breakfast were lovely but reception were not really interested. Really need a good lean and makeover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Uncomfortable bed, tired decor, worn out carpets, poor quality hairdryer, weak shower, filth on top of plug sockets, noisy bathroom fan, TV only works for 10 minutes at a time, no fresh air in room. Can't wait to check out tomorrow morning. Will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Unhappy Traveller2013,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Falstaff. As can be read from other visitors most people are happy with their visit and do see The Falstaff as good value for money. It is a shame that you did not give us an opportunity during your stay to rectify the issues you've raised but thank you for your feedback, we do always take on board what our guests are saying.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardendale, Alabama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed one night in The Falstaff on our trek through the Kent area. We stayed in the building behind the hotel and it was very quiet and comfortable! It is located right across the street from the old Roman wall. Everything worked properly, the bed was ok, and the shower was in good working order. The WiFi was good. The Continental Breakfast was wonderful! The price was really good! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 St Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falstaff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.