We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Falstaff Hotel to your Saves list
The Falstaff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 St Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Brightlingsea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently stayed at the Falstaff Hotel, Anna on reception was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and did everything she could to find us a room after Trivago had totally messed up our booking by taking our money but then not advising the hotel of our booking. We stayed in the Sir John Falstaff suite which was a lovely room with a four poster bed. This is a really lovely little hotel if you like Oldy worldy type hotels and is ideally located just a stones throw from the West Gate and the end of the high street. Would definitely recommend this hotel and we have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending a moment to let us know what you thought of staying at The Falstaff and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    275
    85
    29
    19
See reviews for
85
299
42
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and tidy. Location was fantastic to walk into town and very easy to get to. Would recommend to others if you want easy access to all the sites with parking included for free. Breakfast was of reasonable standard (though the scrambled eggs were a little flavourless).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly staff, small comfortable hotel very close to town centre. I used it as it's walking distance from the University, but great for a city break.
Cooked breakfast was reasonable if not outstanding. In the evenings ther's a really good Mexican restaurant very close by.
I'll definitely use this again.

Room Tip: Need to ring in advance if you require disabled facilities - these are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The directions on their website made the hotel easy to find and you have to drive past the front of the hotel to a mini roundabout and turn left and left again to get to their car park behind the hotel. Watch out for j walkers at the mini round as most people leaving the city gate walk straight across the road.

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the main pedestrain city area and is execellently located. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the fround floor at the front of the hotel and were worried about noise but the windows were doubled glazed and apart from the odd loud mouth walking past it was ok. There is no A/C in the room so in the summer it might get very hot in there, although there seemed to be a couple of air type bricks in the front wall.

The bed and pillows were very comfy and there was an iron , hair dryer and trouser press in the room but no fridge.The break fast in the morning was very good, there was a lot of choice and in the bar area there were complementary papers to read.

We enjoyed the stayed and would use it again if we were in the area

Room Tip: The ones at the front be the road might be noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and also for taking the time to provide your feedback which is always most appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and would like to re-assure you that we do have fans available for the warmer summer months so you will still be comfortable staying with us.

Kindest Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel located very conviently near the Canturbury West train station and the city center.The hotel staff was very open with our requests and the rooms were well taken care of. The full English breakfast was delicious. The only real criticism I have is the problems with the internet; the range seemed to be terrible, and from my room using the connection was impossible. Any time I wanted to connect I would have to leave my room and walk down to another hallway.

Room Tip: Those who need to be able to use the hotel wifi should be sure to check that their room is within ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to re-assure you that we have been testing and updating the wi-fi routers where the signal was poor.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

. When we booked in we were told we were in the annex and it was 2 flights up. I explained to the receptionist that I have difficulty climbing stairs, so she kindly moved us to the ground floor, but what she failed to tell us was that the bathroom and tea making facilities were (you guessed it) 2 flights up as the bedroom had an upstairs balcony, beautiful if you are mobile. The down side was the toilet bowl was cracked, the shower curtain dirty and had obviously not been renewed for a very long time. There was problems with the plumbing, toilet need to be flushed at least 3 times, and the hot water was banging before we could get a drop.
We needed a code to get into the annex, so remember to take it with you when going out.
Breakfast was excellent, buffet style, but all fresh
Staff were friendly
REMEMBER if you are travelling by car, get the exit car park number. We were not told this, and tried to get out, had to go back to reception. The car park was free to residents but had a limited number of spaces.
The hotel is very close to the Town Centre and the Cathedral, which was why we chose The Falstaff.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems, tell staff at time of booking, unfortunately we didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Manager at The Falstaff Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. I would just like to apologise for the shower curtain which been replaced. We do wash and replace shower curtains on a regular basis but clearly your room had been missed. The plumbing issues have also been addressed. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the team to be friendly and helpful.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

John Alexander
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found this hotel adequate, and handy for town. The rooms were cosy, but were in a room near a stair well, so was a little noisy. We made sure we chose a room at the back of the hotel, away from the busy road.
The rooms were clean but notice dust over the radiators and tiles in the bathroom, which made it feel a bit grubby, and the shower looked like it needed some updating. The furnishings are good, and staff friendly. Have had better breakfasts, but more than adequate for what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 St Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falstaff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.