We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Millers Arms

Save Saved
You added The Millers Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Mill Lane, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 70 Canterbury B&B and Inns
derby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Friendly staff and a very convenient location, just a short walk into the centre. Park in the car park opposite and get a 24hour ticket for £5 from the hotel. Room was very clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and generous portions. We stayed here on our way back from a trip to France. It was very good value and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
100
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'm a frequent visitor to Canterbury and now always choose to stay here. A fantastic location, nice, comfortable rooms with everything you could need, and to top it off a delicious breakfast! It's excellent value and the staff are on the whole, pretty great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband chose this hotel for our first night away from our children. From the moment we arrived we was welcomed warmly and felt comfortable. Shown our room and then went down the stairs for some lunch which was lovely.
After a night out we returned to have some drinks in front of the wood burning fire which was delightful.
The cooked breakfast the next day was lovely and definitely topped off the trip.
Was a lovely little pub and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I can not praise The Miller's Arms enough. Very comfortable room at a good price, very convenient location to all to sights, Great breakfast with lots of choice, and a cozy pub as well where we finished off our nights with a lovely glass of wine by a nice fire. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Spent 4 nights there and really felt at home. If am back in that area I would 100% book again! Thank you all :)

Room Tip: Enjoy the Pub Quiz
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Millers Arms for four nights on a nostalgia trip to Canterbury at the end of January. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by friendly staff, and continued to receive excellent service throughout.

The Pub/hotel is owned by Shepherd Neame, the bar/restaurant areas having recently been decorated and furnished in modern style, giving a pleasant ambience. It is positioned about five minutes walk from the city centre, hence very conveniently located. Unlike some other reviewers, we were not unduly disturbed by noise, either from within or from passing students etc. although, in the cold weather, this may be due in part to our having kept the windows firmly shut.

Our room ("The Knight's Tale") was fairly compact, with very traditional furniture, but clean and well-presented. The bathroom was clean but in need of some TLC, and the shower was useless. Friendly Manager Paul advised he had agreed a programme of room refurbishment with the owners although implementation (due to have commenced early 2013) had been delayed.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of menu, prepared to order and served freshly cooked. Again, the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, and looked after us really well - Rosie deserves a special mention, also Paul himself on Rosie's day off.

There is no on-site parking available, but ample and seemingly safe car parking is available across the road (make sure you buy £5 vouchers for 24 hours parking from the hotel, otherwise it's £1.10/hour Pay and Display). Canterbury West station is a few minutes walk away, hence convenient for those arriving by train.

Assuming the shortcomings are remedied, we would strongly recommend this hotel, and look forward to a return visit, especially after the promised room refurbishment has been completed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent two days in this small hotel in September. Great location, friendly stuff, clean rooms and cool bar. I fell in love with Canterbury and i found my home in the millers arms.

thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location. Comfy room. Angela and the staff were very warm and friendly. We'd booked based on the reviews in tripadvisor and definitely were not disappointed. The pub downstairs serves great food and ale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Address: 2 Mill Lane, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.