We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Cafe

Saffron Cafe
9 Castle Street, Canterbury CT1 2QF, England
01227 780 005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Saffron Cafe is situated in a convenient location Canterbury location just two minutes walk from the new Whitefriars Shopping Centre. It has a convivial atmosphere and healthy, value for money menu.Saffron Cafe offers a blend of English and Continental foods whose ingredients are fresh and chosen each day.And for eating al fresco there is a private vine garden - the perfect place to meet up with family or friends or to have a relaxing business lunch.
South of France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple but great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love taking the mushroom crêpes there! It is like being in France. I had not been in 8 years and now I have moved back near by and it has not changed, what is treat is when the waiter and owner recognise you and acknowledge you. Great service, lovely taste, very kind and friendly atmosphere! Great for lunch with anyone, friends and family alike!
Keep up the great work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Moroccan mint tea is superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Atmosphere is chilled but vibrant, owner and staff are very friendly.
ideal for a light lunch or coffee and cake.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went for a day out on my motorbike and ended up in Canterbury. Just down from the car park I used that had bike spaces was the Saffron Cafe. I had a very enjoyable lunch, the cafe was clean and the staff very helpful. The food was first class and not overly high in price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I had an all day breakfast which was plentiful and very tasty! The breakfast tea had a good flavour and the waitress was more than happy to provide an extra saucer as I don't like it really strong. The service was friendly, quick and efficient. My only negative was that ketchup was available but the waitress didn't ask if I wanted any. I will be coming back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Popped in for a quick take away coffee, the staff here are always very friendly and the menu changes on a daily basis

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Cafe also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Saffron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.