We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinocchio's

Pinocchio's
64 Castle Street, Canterbury CT1 2PY, England (Formerly Pinocchios Italian Restaurant)
+44 1227 457538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 298 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $61
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An authentic Italian restaurant housed in an historic building just a short walk from the high street in Canterbury. All the dishes are prepared from scratch each day using the best Italian and locally sourced ingredients and lots and lots of passione!! Come and enjoy our freshly made bread and pasta, our traditional Neapolitan pizza, fresh meat and seafood dishes, not forgetting our mouthwatering home-made desserts. Whatever the occasion, you can be sure of great service in a relaxed atmosphere where you are free to savour the flavours and aromas of the Italian kitchen. We look forward to sharing them with you...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First visited this restaurant approx. 8 years ago and highly delighted with service food etc and on a return visit to Canterbury we decided to see if the restaurant was still open. Not only was it open but the food, service, atmosphere and everything about the meal was fantastic.
The menu was varied and reasonably priced, the service was excellent, the place is atmospheric and clean. A friendly visit and well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    90
    32
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The very best of Italian cuisine and hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

100% consistent in its delivery of excellent Italian food. A warm and friendly ambience, informal style, and great value-for-money. Pinocchio's extensive menu and variety of seasonal specials will leave you spoiled for choice - and needing to keep coming back time and again to try something else that caught your eye.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A yummy experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This lovely restaurant never fails to delight! The ambiance is very warm and welcoming as are the plentiful and attentive waiting staff.
My friends and I ate sea bream lightly grilled and served with a delectable cherry tomato and white wine sauce. The little roasted cubes of potato and haricots verts were a delicious accompaniment.As for the deserts....Well if, like me, the dessert makes your meal then this is the place for you.I had a Neapolitain style cheesecake with icecream which was sensational.
I have been here on numerous occasions and can say without any hesitation that from antipasti to dolce this restaurant provides a delightful gastronomic experience and, what 's more, is light on the wallet! What more could one desire?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, but modest portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice meal here, fantastic calamari, a really nice, rich tasting seafood risotto, but being quite a hungry chap the portions were quite small. Large teenage son looked somewhat disappointed at the pasta dish he ordered. It's not a cheap place to eat, so was a little surprised as the size of some of the dishes. I'm sure many people would find the portions fine...

It tasted great, just could have been a bit more of it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely little Italian restaurant with friendly and efficient staff. Visited this restaurant with my family on the occasion of my daughters birthday; we all had different starters, mains and desserts. Each dish was presented beautifully and they were all delicious - there wasn't a scrap left on any plate. Coffees were provided on the house which ws a nice touch. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio's also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to Pinocchio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinocchio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.