We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 71 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Staff make the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

From the second we arrived the staff made us welcome, for a budget hotel you rarely find staff that will carry bags to your room, remember your name and what your plans for the day are when they serve you for dinner.

The rooms are clean but not very big, hard to swing a cat in the bathroom. But we wasn't there to spend time in the room. The restaurant was pleasantly decorated , the evening meals very good, although the breakfast lacks with not a lot choice and no cheese on a continental breakfast??

Over all a pleasant stay, with very welcoming staff, will stay again on way to France in November.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
May we thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again at The Old Gate, Canterbury.
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
29
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to the Inn and was not worried about the 3pm check in time as it meant we could go into town.

The room was spacious and comfortable and the meal in the restaurant was fine. Bit disappointed that breakfast was only coffee toast and not a full English and that the garden area was a bit messy - used plates and glasses and a lot of cigarette butts.

Staff were welcoming and pleasant and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Use park and rise to go into City Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked this as it offered very good value for a family room, close to the Dover ferry port which is about 20 minutes drive away. There is plenty of free parking on site and we were able to see our car from our room although this wouldn't be true of all rooms.
Family room with very comfortable sofa bed although we had to make this up ourselves, the only downside was the bathroom (shower room) which although large had a few faults, no extractor fan working and couldn't open the window, plug didn't work in the sink and it took quite a while for the water to get hot in the morning although this may have been as we were up quite early.
We had a nice meal in the pub downstairs which was fairly quiet for a Friday night, no noise to worry about it was mainly couples dining.
We didn't realise until we arrived that on a weekend breakfast doesn't start until 8am, so no good for an early ferry, but as we were leaving just before 8 they said we were welcome to take food from the buffet to eat on route.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Old Gate Canterbury .
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location for Canterbury with free parking.Local bus straight outside to Canterbury every 10 minutes fare £2.60 return.
We chose the hotel because it is close to the Eurotunnel and surrounding major towns ideal for a short uk trip.Made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff.Rooms are clean, comfortable
and a good size.The restaurant offers a large choice of meals at reasonable prices.
The only negative was the continental which to say the least is very basic no fresh cheese, cold meats or boiled eggs.Offered coffee,tea,cereal,toast,jam,and fruit but help to start the day.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the rear which is much quieter. We asked for a room at the rear when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Old Gate, Canterbury a good place to stay, and we really appreciate your leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was not far from the Ashford "Le Shuttle" terminal and we did not fancy travelling down from the Midlands on a Monday during rush hour and possibly missing our train connection. So we decided to stay down in Kent on the Sunday and this turned out to be a very good hotel. Part of the Village Inns group and we were impressed with the service we received and the bedroom was very comfortable and clean. The menu for that evening looked a bit pricey, so we opted to go into Canterbury (only 2 miles away) and try out one of the many restaurants on offer in the old town which turned out to be a sensible choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Canterbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Made to feel welcome as soon as I walked through the door. Room was clean and comfortable. The bar/restaurant had a nice ambiance with friendly attentive staff. Pie seelection was good. Very close to Dover, so will stay. here again when on route to France

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland england
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here overnight before going through the channel tunnel which is about 20 minutes away so nice and handy. There is a huge car park at the rear so no problems parking. Most Innkeepers lodges are decorated in the same style so you know what you're going to get, the room was clean and well presented and at the rear which I had requested in advance as there could be some road noise at the front. There are tea/coffee making facilities and a small flat screen tv in the room, the bathroom was also clean and had a large shower, the only downside being a shower curtain which I hate as they chase you around sticking to you every time you turn, however the shower was powerful and the towels were large and nice quality. They do not supply toiletries as standard but are happy to if asked.

We ate in the restaurant and the service was spot on, the staff were attentive and friendly and our meal arrived quickly, we both had haddock and chips which were lovely and not badly priced. They provide a continental buffet breakfast in the morning which is included in the very reasonable price but you can have a cooked breakfast for an additional charge. The continental breakfast included cereals, toast, cheeses, jams etc, nothing fabulous but good enough.

I have paid a lot more to stay in worse places and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.