We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
wirral
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“tired hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

this hotel has seen better days, could do with a revamp,ther are a lot better places in canterbury,and a lot closer to the walls,food was not very good, rooms were not cleaned properly,service was slow,very slow,the toilet in our room could do with a proper cleaning,had to wash the seat before we could use it

Room Tip: pick another hotel,is my best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
35
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford Essex
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Having read other reviews I can only say the staff must have had a crash course in customer relations!! We were efficiently checked in with a friendly welcome and shown to our room. The rooms are of a good size, though the bathroom was on the small side with just a shower cubicle and no bath they were clean. Bed linen was crisp and clean. Spare pillows in the wardrobe and plenty of good size and quality towels. We certainly weren't bothered by traffic noise and had 2 excellent nights sleep. The only thing was although we had the radiator switched off the room was, sometimes, uncomfortably hot for no apparent reason.
The continental breakfast was well presented and continually restocked. In our book the breakfast is a bonus when other lodges don't offer it or charge extra. Also parking is free which is becoming a rarity these days.
As we had been to Canterbury before we already knew about the Park and Ride but it is quite noticable but it's not an unpleasant walk into Canterbury anyway.
The thing to bear in mind is these style of lodge/hotels don't have the resources of larger hotels and therefore can't offer the same level of service. On the other hand they don't really charge as much as the larger hotels, so there is the answer!

Room Tip: Try and ask for room 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed overnight with my daughter whilst visiting unis. Arrived after a horrendous journey to a sour welcome that warmed slightly eventually. No useful information given re travelling into Canterbury, although it would have been easy to mention the Park & Ride NEXT DOOR!? Room Ok, linen clean, although lots of traffic noise through single glazed windows. Breakfast was self-serve, continental which was adequate. The service, however, left a lot to be desired - again very surly and everything too much effort. It is almost as though the staff are intolerant to guests! We had eaten dinner (adequate again) in the restaurant the night before and had hoped for a warm, friendly atmosphere... The irony is that we had a framed reflective piece in our room about the value of a SMILE - it would be wise for the staff to read and inwardly digest and maybe take the lead from the lady servicing the rooms - she actually tried to help us with useful information. It's a good premise,; they will provide anything forgotten for free (toothbrush etc) but certainly needs work and the staff need to cheer up! We won't be returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Lovely place, shame about the food and service. Filthy glasses, cold scallops that got microwaved and returned to me when I complained. Staff all too busy to say 'hello' on arrival after spending all day travelling we were ignored for at least 5 minutes before being seen to. Breakfast staff didn't know how to say 'good morning' and only offered a hot drink when we asked near the end of our breakfast. There is clearly no management and no motivation amongst the staff who often were trying their best I believe, but with a crap structure around them. There's so many more moans I could have but I will leave it at that. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Do not go to this restaurant. The staff are too busy chatting. No service. Meals are delayed by upto 45 50 mins! Including cold desserts. They do not use central heating in the winter! People all sitting with coats on!! Used to be a brilliant place to eat.... really gone down hill.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good points : Flat-screen television with Freeview channels; Tea and coffee-making facilities; Clean bedroom

Bad points : Check-In; Bed; Room too hot; Noise from road; Shower curtain; Staff at breakfast

We arrived at 1.30 pm and hoped to check in early, but no – the rules are the rules! Check-in itself was a prolonged affair (you pay on checking in) – when they eventually found my booking and got their machine to work.

After dinner in Canterbury, we decided to stay in the room and watch some television, but this was when things really started to go downhill. Obviously, the comfort of a bed is subjective, but this one was far too soft for us. It was also on casters so moved if you leant against it.

As it was a warm night, we opened the sash window, but found pieces of wood have been nailed to the sides to stop it opening more than about 6 inches (health & safety). The room overlooked the main road, so there was a constant stream of traffic. This, coupled with the heat and soft bed, meant we didn’t get much sleep. East-facing room, so woken before 6 am by the sun.

Found the shower curtain does good service as a plug so I ended up standing in a couple of inches of water. (I am extremely short-sighted so could not see what the problem was until I left the shower and put my glasses on.)

Breakfast - food laid out as a buffet – cereals, croissants, bread by the toaster, jams, orange juice but no hot drinks. The other diners explained we would be asked what drinks we wanted, but it took a while to find a member of staff. If you drink tea, be aware that you are given hot (not boiling) water and shown where the teabags are.

The point of staying in a hotel (even a budget one) being to sleep, we won’t be in a hurry to stay at another Innkeepers Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Mary in the Marsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed for One night only. Excellent old world Pub /Inn with accomodation. Very good complimentary breakfast, although nothing cooked available. One night stay was £62 for the double room with complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.