We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local, yummy food with good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deeson's Restaurant

Deeson's Restaurant
25/26 Sun Street, Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
01227 767 854
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Deeson's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 243 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Canterbury now benefits from the new high speed link to London as well as a regular network of rail, coach and bus routes.
Description: Deeson"s restaurant is a British restaurant set in the heart of the historic Cathedral city of Canterbury. At Deeson's we pride ourselves on serving the best of seasonal produce that is available to us from Kent the allotment of England and Britain. Our menu celebrates everything that is great about Britain and it's culinary history. At Deeson's we have the freedom to change our menu's on a daily basis directed by the feedback we receive from our suppliers letting us know which products are particularly good at any given time.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Local, yummy food with good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are locals and went here for a Friday evening treat. The service was very good and the staff were very friendly. We had the pigeon and the seafood platter to start. Although very tasty the seafood platter was quite small. We had chicken and pork for main which were both delicious. And, we squeezed in amaretto chocolate dessert. Again, very tasty!
The food seemed to be mostly locally sourced as did the beer. Always a good thing.
Even though a little pricy, we will visit again!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    224
    79
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, fantastic service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have eaten at Deesons on a number of occasions and always look forward to it. The food is modern British, and uses local, fresh produce. The chef mixes some unusual taste combinations, but always to delicious affect. Portion sizes aren't generous, but that means I always have room for one their fabulous puddings! Service is truly excellent. Attentive, but not cloying, and the staff know their stuff. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Deeson's is my view of a more traditional British restaurant with great service and very good food in a less casual atmosphere than the pubs. Im told by a local professor that it is the most popular restaurant to take visiting businessmen. My wife and I had a very comfortable and pleasant time there with two colleagues, and enjoyed a return visit by ourselves on a latter trip. If you are interested in eating somewhere other than pubs, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went here for a meal after reading the good reviews. The food was excellent! We shared a pork trio starter which was lovely. He had the beef main course, which looked amazing. I had the chicken dish which was very tasty and a large portion size. The desserts we had were also soo tasty. The service was attentive and fast. Considering we had a delicious 3 course meal it wasn't ridiculously overpriced. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went to Deeson's in February for a family reunion. The waitress was friendly, good-humoured and charming, and was very helpful.

As someone who doesn't drink wine, I'm used to feeling left out when it comes to nice food/drink pairings, so I was pleasantly surprised that they had a very nice selection of fruit juices. I had pear juice, and it was delicious.

The menu was very impressive. I've never really eaten anywhere fancy before, and there was a huge selection. I had a goats cheese salad starter - delicious - a chicken roast dinner main - loads of sides including yorkshire pud and stuffing, all lovely - and a chocolate brownie with ice cream for dessert. Oh my GODS that brownie, Warm, gooey and almost liquid inside. The best I've had.

My partner had artichoke soup, the same main as me and a cheeseboard. His only complaint was he'd have liked more garlic in the soup, and we both couldn't figure out what the "game chips" served with the main were. We had anticipated crispy slivers of some game meat or some sort of crackling, but they looked like lattice-cut crisps.

There was a decent menu choice for the kids, although their portions were a bit big - the girls had steak, and the meat portion for each was the size and thickness of my fist. Would have been a treat, cooked blue, but as a medium-rare for small children, they struggled to cut it and had to be helped. About half as much would have been plenty.

Would recommend for families without children and romantic dinners. Food quality is top notch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deeson's Restaurant also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Deeson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deeson's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.