We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Meze

Bar Meze
8 Adelaide Street, St. Albans AL3 5BH, England
01727 847799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 249 Restaurants in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nimatt's Bar Meze in St Albans serves the native cuisine of Cyprus - the historic meeting place of Europe and Asia. The dishes have Greek, Ottoman and Arabic influences resulting in a unique blend. The company motto "Eat, Drink, Share" pays reference to the Eastern Mediterranean way of eating, that is both healthy and fun. There are no set starters or main courses, and you can order a snack or a main meal simply by varying the number of dishes chosen. Our meat, fish and vegetables are bought direct from the relevant markets. The dips and the majority of the prepared food items are freshly made in our own preparation kitchen to exclusive Bar Meze recipes.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“My favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had another delicious dinner at Bar Meze with the family, I had the Swordfish and it was amazing! On previous visits I have really enjoyed the mixed meze and think all the dishes are fantastic.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    62
    23
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat in St Albans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Always busy so need to book, food is fresh and very tasty. Atmosphere is lively but in a good way - suitable for couples, small groups or larger gatherings. We have been eating here since it opened many years ago and it never disapoints. Staff, particularly the owner greet and thank all customers, a lovely touch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had another lovely evening at Bar Meze with friends last week. Very easy going and attentive staff headed by Fouad, delicious food, wonderful atmosphere - it works for me every time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredible! Reminds me of restaurents in Greece!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you havent been to Bar Meze in St Albans then you have to go! This is by far the best restaurent in Hertfordshire, I have been a few times now and the food is top quality and perfect everytime and the service and friendlyness of the staff is just spot on. The owner greats us as if we are friends everytime we go which just adds that personal touch to the service! If you do go have the spicy sausage its amazing! You have to visit this restaurent if your in St Albans!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in St Albans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times now and every time i come away booking a table again. The food is amazing and the staff are so friendly you feel like friends. I have never been to such a buzzing friendly restaurant. Would recommend it to anyone who loves good quality food and friendly, smiling staff. Great way to spend an evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Meze also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Bar Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Meze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.