We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Stay in Rural Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood
Smug Oak Lane | Bricketwood, St. Albans AL2 3PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable Stay in Rural Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Although this is a chain hotel and has all the usual features the location makes it a bit different and the staff have always been particularly friendly and helpful. The cost can be very reasonable (especially if you book when there is a special on) and the rooms are large, clean and perfectly comfortable for a night or two. The location is down a country road and it is set around an old mill with new accommodation buildings in a similar style. There is a restaurant across the road where breakfast etc is available and again the staff there were very good on the day we tried it. There is a fair bit of background noise from the nearby motorway but the windows are double glazed and it is not a problem. Car parking is a little limited in front of the hotel but there is a large car park to the side but the gravel makes moving large cases a bit of a chore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    96
    24
    17
    5
See reviews for
108
73
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely location with lots of open space around the mill stream. Good car parking. Excellent Beefeater restaurant next door in the old water mill building. Nice friendly staff.

But the room was cold, damp and did not smell nice. I doubt anyone had properly checked this room before allocating it to me. To be fair when I complained I received a full refund.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The surroundings are stunning with lots to occupy little ones. We had a nice welcome at reception and extra pillows had been delivered to our room as requested.
The room was very basic and although it was clean it felt more like a hostel with poor and tired looking decor.
The Beefeater restaurant was in the old mill which very pretty. The staff were not attentive and the food was not very nice. At breakfast staff were brusque, food was slow and they had items missing from the buffet that had been advertised. The toaster burnt the toast on one side and left it raw on the other. When our hot food finally arrived it was the wrong order, although this was quickly rectified by the only friendly waitress we came across. The poached eggs had been cooked in vinegar and tasted almost pickled. By this time we should already have set off on our journey home so I cannot really judge them on this as I just wanted to leave and didn't give them a chance to fix it.
Perhaps worth staying for the lovely play park and mill etc. but overall was disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn St Albans/Bricket Wood. Lovely setting, friendly staff, clean room and a good night's sleep. If you are attending night time events in St Albans it will require a little driving (and taxis are relatively expensive).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed overnight ahead of a visit to the Harry Potter tour at Leavesden. Room absolutely fine, if smelling a bit musty on arrival. Bed wasn't as comfortable as i'd like but that's down to personal taste I guess.

Service at the Premier Inn, and at the adjacent Beefeater, was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night after going to a wedding in St. Albans. Really comfy bed and warm quiet rooms had a good sleep here and so much cheaper than hotels in the town centre. Taxi to two was 12 pound and took around 10 minutes - only thing that could have been better is the water pressure as e shower is not that powerful but still nice and decent if you get it for a good price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely location, very pleasant staff , great restaurant, would highly recommend , near the motorway, but you can't hear the noise when your in the room.would definately stay here again. The only complaint would be the mattress was very soft, and the television was really small.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood

Address: Smug Oak Lane | Bricketwood, St. Albans AL2 3PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood Hotel St. Albans
Premier Inn Saint Albans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn St Albans / Bricket Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.