We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy & friendly with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza - St. Albans

Zaza - St. Albans
5 High Street, St. Albans AL3 4ED, England
01727 812683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 222 restaurants in St. Albans
Price range: $29 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cosy & friendly with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yes it was Saturday but it was only 6pm and St Albans was very busy, we had not booked and were lucky to get a table. Two ladies, 2 starters & 2 bowls of pasta and an enjoyable visit. This was the night before The London Marathon so it was just Pasta loading and a "Spag Bol" for my friend so just a brief, early evening visit but we would recommend it and will return for a more leisurely visit another time. Portions are not huge but this means you can fit in starters and possibly a pudding!
There is a lot of competition in St Albans for Italian food, especially in this area so the standard needs to be good. At any time of year this is cosy and it feels like it is night time as there is no natural light, when you go back outside to sunshine it comes as a surprise. It would be easy to miss this place as only the front door is visible on the street but once found it should not be overlooked again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    93
    54
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Eight of us had dinner at Zaza. Service was polite and prompt. Dishes over-large, ok quality. Place was full on a Tuesday evening…probably due to a free wine with dinner promo. Not sure if I would come here as a couple, a little to intrusive for me, but good for groups. I think this place would like to see it as more of a high end Italian chain, but for me its good but not great. Average.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Came last Tuesday for Italy Night and LOVED IT....AGAIN....! Staff is very friendly, makes you feel very welcoming and special. No request is a hassle for them, very flexible with dishes as well if you are a fussy eater. Great meal cooked to perfection every time! Amazing value for money especially with UNLIMITED wine.....See you soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smashing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had another great meal at Zaza in St. Albans served from a friendly and welcoming staff. The veal escalope with pasta pomodoro was delicious seasoned perfectly and a quite generous portion I would say which went well with my glass of chianti. Will definitely revisit again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Tried this restaurant on recommendation for a special occassion.Found staff to be untidy and unaccomodating. The table was big enough for two people but we were four so there was not enough room for the meal and drinks without continously moving things around. We asked for a bigger table but was told it wasnt possible, why I am not sure as the restaurant was only half full. Our main course spanned over ten minutes between the first one arriving and the last. The only home cooked dessert we were told was the tiramisu,that we found to be bland and tasteless., and the meal overall we found to be expensive for what it was. The Harpenden branch I am told is a little better, we dont intend to risk ruining another evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza - St. Albans also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Zaza - St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza - St. Albans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.