We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay For A Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added St Michael's Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay For A Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the St Michael's Manor Hotel on 11 and 12 October while we attended a wedding elsewhere. The location is very central, with St Albans city centre less than 5 minutes walk away. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, with a lovely lake and trees all around. The public areas are smart and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the lake on the side. It was large and luxurious with a huge bathroom (bath and large walk-in shower). Lots of lovely little extras and plenty of wardrobe space. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening. It was sadly relatively empty which was a shame as the food is delicious (but perhaps a little over-priced for the size of the portions). The wine list is good and prices reasonable compared to London. Breakfast was also delicious, with an excellent choice, including crumpets. My haddock on the Sunday morning was miniscule (and as I didn't have egg this was a shame). The food is of good quality and we found the front of house staff to be very friendly. Tables were cleared quickly. There is also plenty of car-parking space with a small loading area right outside the front door. The directions to the hotel on the website are excellent and other hotels should take note.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: A lakeside view is a good move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    72
    30
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
128
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Amazing venue, beautiful inside and out, with delicious food well presented and served.
Rooms excellent, very comfortable.
Staff attentive and helpful nothing too much trouble in restaurant and bar.
The general manager , Richard, and front of house Sean,
were so kind to us and our guests and always with a smile.
They made our daughters' wedding a special event from the first day of planning,
to the wedding day itself, which was perfect from start to finish.
The superb hospitality continued the next day with an excellent breakfast and happy departure.
First class hotel, we would highly recommend, especially for any type of celebration.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable but view of garden lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from our sons wedding held at the wonderful St Michael's Manor. What a perfectly stunning setting for a truly romantic wedding. The interior does not disappoint either -beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. Our bedroom was extremely comfortable and quiet with a luxurious feel. We found the staff to be vey friendly and helpful in fact nothing was too much trouble. The food throughout the entire weekend was delicious and the service was first class. We are so impressed with this venue, we really could not fault it. We would not hesitate in recommending this venue for a wedding, anniversary, or indeed for the perfect break. Thank you so much for helping to make our sons wedding fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I recently went for a midweek special occasion dinner: we paid about 65 pounds for 3 courses each and including a bottle of wine and coffee. A fair price, given the quality ambiance. However, the portion sizes of the food (starter, main and pudding) were tiny: seriously small. For this reason, and this reason alone, a rating of 3 stars (out of 5). We probably wouldn't return. For this reason alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at St Michael's Manor for a late September family wedding.
What a perfect, romantic setting. Couldn't fault a thing, the food is delicious, staff friendly and attentive- especially the Restaurant Manager and his bar staff.
The wedding breakfast was delicious and a great party had by all afterwards.

We stayed in a fabulous room, named Fir, balcony overlooking the grounds, pure luxury.
The breakfast...probably the best we've ever had! Eggs Royale, definitely recommend.

We'd come back again in a heartbeat, thank you St Michael's Manor!

Room Tip: Fir is a stunning room overlooking the lake and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for our friend's wedding and we were really impressed. The house and grounds are stunning and the staff really friendly.

As a wedding venue it is ideal- you have the run of the whole estate and it has a personal feel to it. The food was lovely and the setting stunning.

We stayed in one of the larger rooms, with a separate sofa and tv area and monster bathroom- perfect. The bed was comfortable and the decor designer.

In the morning we both had the full English breakfast which was really tasty and not pretentious at all.

Would return for a very luxurious treat, ideal for anniversaries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Husband and I got married in Sep 2012 and held our wedding reception at the Hotel as exclusive hire which was just excellent. We returned this year to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary by having an evening meal and staying over. We were warmly welcomed back and given an upgrade to one of the luxury suites. Once in our room we found a lovely note and bottle of bubbly from the hotel staff. We were given a great table for our meal and had Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on our dessert plates which was a lovely touch. The staff were so attentive, warm and friendly and felt that they couldn't do enough for us. The food was heaven and the room and grounds were truly wonderful. It was so special to enjoy a quiet stay at the Manor. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965, and continue to own and run the hotel. Bedrooms are individually styled, many overlooking the lake and gardens, with the award-winning restaurant sharing the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.