We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St Michael's Manor Hotel to your Saves list
St Michael's Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at this lovely hotel. We stayed one night...in the Lilac room, positioned adjacent to the staircase on the first floor.

Our room was really nice and spacious...with a lovely view over the gardens and lake and was tastefully furnished in contemporary style. The bathroom was also stylish and roomy. We loved the little touches...the sweets, soft comfortable bath robes, generous supply of assorted teas, cafetiere coffee and biscuits and toiletries. The room was spotlessly clean.

All the staff were just lovely. There was a wedding on....so they were obviously rushed off their feet, but nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they were professional, polite and helpful at all times.

My only quibble was that the area immediately outside our room (which was on the first floor, right next to the stairs) was used for taking photo's of the wedding party (fault of the photographer perhaps, rather than the hotel). This did generate quite a bit of noise at one stage....which could have been annoying for anyone trying to rest. Fortunately, we were on our way out to a party elsewhere and so were not bothered. There were some further disturbances later on in the night but our sleep was not disturbed and we did have a comfortable night's rest.

We enjoyed a relaxed breakfast in the beautiful lakeside restaurant. Food was of good quality, couked to perfection and generously portioned. Coffee here is very good!

All in all...this place left a very favourable impression with us and we would certainly recommend it...and would stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    86
    36
    22
    10
See reviews for
79
138
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This is not a bad hotel but it is far from perfect. At £220 per night it should be !! We stayed in the Larch four poster room on the ground floor on a Saturday and Sunday night. No access to the room from reception (due to a wedding) so a walk in the rain with bags. The super looking bathroom is a nightmare to use. Nowhere to put soap in the shower, no way to shower without getting your hair wet, nowhere to put a vanity case apart from the floor, no magnifying mirror, no flannels, 1 minute bar of soap for 2 people and impossible to put hot water in the bath once you are in it without scalding yourself. Breakfast was also inadequate with the portions too small. Would I stay here again?? Probably not!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

St Michael's Manor is easy to find with plenty of on-site parking & in a great location only a short walk from the city center. After a long journey pulling into this pretty old manor house definitely puts a smile on your face. With it's beautiful gardens & lake you can't wait to get inside & see what more it has to offer. Once inside your not disappointed, it has a charming ambience where the old style of decor is at the same time light, airy & contemporary. Our room was a good size, comfortable & had all the added little extra's that make a difference. Due to the hotel going through a kitchen refurbishment unfortunately the restaurant was closed. The only breakfast available was continental, however we were made aware of this at the time of booking so it wasn't a problem & there was still a good choice of options available. We stayed here for two nights & found the staff to be helpful & friendly throughout. A perfect place to stay when visiting London if you don't want the hustle & bustle of the big city as it's only 20mins on the train to St Pancras. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in the area & would have no problem in recommending!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

In lieu of my forthcoming 50th birthday, I was taken to St. Michael's Manor for a celebratory meal. The food was quite superb and the staff extremely attentive and knowledgeable. All the dishes were expertly presented on warm plates with delish food. We all (8) thoroughly enjoyed the evening which was rounded off with a cake (also delish!). I won't bore you with who had what etc, just go and try it for yourself. A bit pricey, but I wasn't paying!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Attended a wedding recently and stayed for a couple of nights.

The building and grounds are beautiful: though a few tatty bits here are there add to the charm.

The food we had at the wedding was excellent. The bar is well stocked though we thought a little pricey considering the closeness of competition from a few bery nice local pubs.

Staff were generally OK but perhaps a little superior.

All in all a very nice venue/hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a first floor overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night on route to Bushey. The Hotel is so well finished inside and out. We will certainly return paticularly as St Albans is well worth a visit. The restaurant is in a very large conservatory overlooking the lake and is real quality. the food in the evening was excellent as was breakfast the following morning. We will definately return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This review is 13 years overdue but nonethe less well worth praising this sumptuous hotel .

We first visited St Michaels Manor as a group to celebrate the Millenium & have been coming back ever since.

The welcome we received on our recent visit was as warm & friendly as ever.

Attention to detail & personal touches are the watchword @ this charming privately owned hotel.

The surroundings are superb the rooms extremely comfortable & we understand the restaurant has been recently upgraded.

Now all we need to do, is find another celebratory to visit St Michaels Manor again.

It wont be too long !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.