We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally friendly staff, very old fashioned feeling hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ardmore House to your Saves list
Ardmore House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Lemsford Road, St. Albans AL1 3PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Leominster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Generally friendly staff, very old fashioned feeling hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Back in St Albans for a family event, we stayed one night in the Ardmore hotel. The hotel is well placed for that side of St Albans and there aren't a lot of options in that area. The staff are friendly, and the communal rooms are ok, but the whole hotel feels very old fashioned - patterned carpets, breakfast mostly geared to a traditional full english etc. Our room was in the attic and was quite small. For £80 per night not including breakfast it was not tremendous value. The main restaurant which serves italian food looked good and was praised by other guests, but we were eating out with family so didn't try it. Most of the people staying in the hotel were business travellers, many of them contractors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    39
    23
    15
See reviews for
64
74
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion at another hotel, nearby. This hotel's prices were a bit cheaper so we chose it. I give it top marks for appearance: a character period hotel in mellow yellow brick with charming begonia orange and yellow hanging baskets and stained glass windows. My camera was happy! It is set in a suburban part of St Albans but not far from the town centre and railway station. There is a bar/restaurant/dance floor and on Friday night we ate there en famille and were not disappointed, the service was ecellent and they were attentive to my needs as a person who suffers from gluten intolerance (coeliac disease) supplying me with details of what I could eat and gluten-free bread. The breakfast was substantial and waiter service for the cooked choices again impeccable. The bedroom was pleasant, well appointed and had a good view over the local area at the back: trees, garden etc. The bed was very comfortable and the adjoining ensuite shower room fine. There were a few stairs up to the bedroom with a handrail and a door at the top which was a bit of a challenge for my husband who struggles on stairs, but we managed (we were informed there were no ground floor rooms prior to booking). Also there was a short flight of stairs down to the breakfast room and a few steps into the restaurant but both have hand rails and he managed. There is no lift to floors. There are some interesting "antique" type furniture/chairs in the hotel and the bar lounge area has newspapers and comfortable chairs and a large wide-screen television. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The only fault I can find is that our room, at the back of the hotel, on the end of the corridor, had a generator of some sort next door, outside the fire escape - and this was humming on and off intermittently during the night, which kept us awake until late the first night. The second night, (Saturday) we were entertained with noise from the music coming from the dance floor.. Also the railway is quite close, in a cutting a few yards away, but you can reduce the noise from thist by closing the windows. My mother had a single room at the front of the house where she reported there was some noise from the traffic. But all in all, a good break and I would recommend.for a visit to St Albans. Also, a big plus, there is a roomy car park behind the hotel, off the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generator (ours was room 20, avoid this)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A quadrouple birthday celebration was held at this hotel. The general service was super. The staff are friendly and helpful. The setting is excellent as was the food. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We would certainly return for future functions and not hesitate to take friends for meals.
Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: There is a good range of rooms to choose from to meet your particular needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I first went to this venue for a wedding fair around 3 years ago and immediately fell in love! The main suite is bright, clean and very welcoming.
We chose this venue to host our wedding and I am so thrilled that we did. From the start, both Joe and Morris were extremely helpful and very friendly.
The gardens are stunning and make a perfect venue for the ceremony (unfortunately the weather was not so good on our day, but the staff were excellent and made sure we could hold the event inside).
We were able to taste and choose the menu which was a very enjoyable evening and made things more personal. All our needs were catered for and all our guests were very impressed. The food was excellent, hot and served promptly.
The bridal suite was exquisite - very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were served a delicious cooked breakfast before leaving the following day.
Nothing more to say really except a HUGE thanks to all the staff - our wedding day was perfect. This hotel comes highly recommended and we shall definitely be dining there in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food and service is really first class. Lots to see and do in St Albans. Thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good quality and service at a great price.

Room Tip: Ground floor luxury suite. Beautiful accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed one night in this friendly hotel and had a pleasant room overlooking the garden. The room was a reasonable size with attractive bed cover and curtains. We especially enjoyed the pretty garden which has a pond with Koi carp in it. The lawns were well kept and pretty hanging baskets were everywhere.
We chose to dine in the hotel and liked the Italian food - the food being well cooked and attractively presented.
We slept well with good plump pillows and quiet night in spite of being near the railway line.
Nice breakfast too.
The staff are brilliant and I haven't enjoyed such good service for a long time. Many thanks for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed a week and enjoyed everything about it. Well there was a wedding that was somewhat loud. Mostly noise coming from people standing outside chatting. Management did have it end by midnight so not too late. You do need to be able to haul your suitcases upstairs, but I suppose they have lower level rooms. I enjoy the house atmosphere and the efforts they make to keep it a somewhat professional atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St. Albans AL1 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.